Launchpad

Anything related to PR, release planning and any other non-technical idea how to move the project forward should be discussed here.
psi29a
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/

Launchpad

Post by psi29a »

Does anyone have experience with Launchpad in creating and maintaining PPAs? If not, I can get my hands dirty as I've always wanted to try this out.

Also, does OpenMW have an account in Launchpad?
If not, I propose creating such an account to handle these things:
* libogre w/ shader support (Ubuntu/Debian does not do this)
* libbullet (for older Ubuntu/Debians without it in main repo)
* host our deb releases for various Ubuntu versions starting with 10.04

What do you guys think?
Zini

Re: Launchpad

Post by Zini »

That is a good idea. I have no experience with PPAs on launchpad though.
I think launchpad accounts are per person and not per project. So you could just create an account for yourself and host the PPA there.
psi29a

Post by psi29a »

Zini wrote:That is a good idea. I have no experience with PPAs on launchpad though.
I think launchpad accounts are per person and not per project. So you could just create an account for yourself and host the PPA there.
I have my own account but they also have Projects, which is good as it depersonalizes things. I find it awkward that we had to use "andrew's" PPA, I think users would trust one that is officially that of "OpenMW" when they go out of their way to install OpenMW on a system without necessary libraries.
Last edited by psi29a on 28 Feb 2012, 11:45, edited 1 time in total.
Zini

Post by Zini »

Okay then. Go ahead!
psi29a

Post by psi29a »

I've created a team and a project page.

The team 'builds' the packages and the project is a nice overview of all available packages. It is possible that we do not need the project page, but we'll see what happens from there. :)