How to run OpenMW with steam Morrowind on MAC?

Support for running, installing or compiling OpenMW

Before you submit a bug report for the first time, please read: Bug reporting guidelines
Post Reply
Jwn121
Posts: 7
Joined: 28 Jan 2018, 04:34

How to run OpenMW with steam Morrowind on MAC?

Post by Jwn121 » 29 Jan 2018, 05:56

I have, sadly, no access to a PC and thus must play games on my MAC computer. I had already purchased Morrowind on Steam before I found OpenMW, but as I cannot install Morrowind on my Mac through Steam, I can't get it into my finder as a folder and so I can't load it onto OpenMW and actually play the game. I've looked up a number of things on google, spent a few hours searching to no avail, looked on youtube and there's nothing for mac, so I decided to come here, where I know that there are successful MAC players. Thanks for the help! :D
P.S. Any good mods for when I figure it out? Thanks again!

User avatar
lysol
Posts: 1388
Joined: 26 Mar 2013, 01:48
Location: Sweden

Re: How to run OpenMW with steam Morrowind on MAC?

Post by lysol » 29 Jan 2018, 07:28

You have the same avatar/profile picture as drummyfish, which is... very confusing.

Anyway, I think I recall steamcmd worked on mac too. Anyone?
Normal mapped texture replacers, exclusive for OpenMW:
My Nexus page

PatDaRat
Posts: 8
Joined: 03 Aug 2017, 09:45

Re: How to run OpenMW with steam Morrowind on MAC?

Post by PatDaRat » 29 Jan 2018, 11:37

Sure! I have managed to get OpenMW working on a Mac using Steam files taken from my PC. Even if you don't have easy access to a PC, I'm sure you can still install the PC version of Morrowind on your Mac using Wine (https://www.winehq.org/). So:

1) Install Wine on your Mac
2) Install the PC version of Steam in Wine
3) Login and download Morrowind
4) You should be able to access the game files. I believe your Wine C-Drive lives here: ~/.wine/drive_c/

I don't know much about steamcmd. My personal experience is that it was too much of a hassle when I tried using it.

Hopefully this helps :)

User avatar
Thunderforge
Posts: 500
Joined: 06 Jun 2017, 05:57

Re: How to run OpenMW with steam Morrowind on MAC?

Post by Thunderforge » 29 Jan 2018, 18:10

No need to install Wine. You can have your Mac Steam client get tricked into downloading Morrowind straight onto your Mac. Check out these instructions on our Wiki.

That’s what I use and it works like a charm.

User avatar
lysol
Posts: 1388
Joined: 26 Mar 2013, 01:48
Location: Sweden

Re: How to run OpenMW with steam Morrowind on MAC?

Post by lysol » 29 Jan 2018, 21:08

Thunderforge wrote:
29 Jan 2018, 18:10
No need to install Wine. You can have your Mac Steam client get tricked into downloading Morrowind straight onto your Mac. Check out these instructions on our Wiki.

That’s what I use and it works like a charm.
How did I miss this?
Normal mapped texture replacers, exclusive for OpenMW:
My Nexus page

User avatar
Thunderforge
Posts: 500
Joined: 06 Jun 2017, 05:57

Re: How to run OpenMW with steam Morrowind on MAC?

Post by Thunderforge » 30 Jan 2018, 15:40

lysol wrote:
29 Jan 2018, 21:08
How did I miss this?
Not sure, but if you figure out a better way so people don’t miss it, let us know so that others can avoid the same problem.

Tub6
Posts: 4
Joined: 26 Feb 2020, 23:14

Re: How to run OpenMW with steam Morrowind on MAC?

Post by Tub6 » 26 Feb 2020, 23:18

Anyone know if it's possible to rum two separate installations of the game? I have mine from steam and am running openmw on Mac. So far it seems impossible to run two steam versions but maybe someone knows a way?

CMAugust
Posts: 197
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 00:13

Re: How to run OpenMW with steam Morrowind on MAC?

Post by CMAugust » 01 Mar 2020, 02:04

Not sure about Steam, but multiple installations of openmw.exe running concurrently is absolutely possible, as I sometimes do for testing purposes.

User avatar
AnyOldName3
Posts: 1724
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 03:25

Re: How to run OpenMW with steam Morrowind on MAC?

Post by AnyOldName3 » 01 Mar 2020, 02:10

It's MacOS that's being asked about here, so it might be different. I know things are kept by name in Applications, so it might not be possible to have multiple versions side-by-side.
AnyOldName3, Master of Shadows

Post Reply