Page 2 of 2

Re: MW-Subsystem refactoring (Task #107)

Posted: 09 Jul 2012, 06:59
by corristo
We're using cmake, so Visual Studio projects just generated by cmake.

And I think everyone using Linux/OS X/any other *nix knows about -j key for make to compile several files in parallel.
Does Visual Studio only allow building projects in parallel?

Re: MW-Subsystem refactoring (Task #107)

Posted: 09 Jul 2012, 13:31
by gus
Thanks a lot! it greatly reduced compilation time on windows (more than 45% i think).
Does Visual Studio only allow building projects in parallel?
No. But the file generated by CMake doesn't build anything in parallel.

Re: MW-Subsystem refactoring (Task #107)

Posted: 09 Jul 2012, 14:04
by Zini
That is just the default setting, right? At least on the command line this can be adjusted on a case-by-case basis via the -j switch (very useful when you often do several tasks in parallel and want to control how much CPU power the OpenMW build process consumes). I assume MSVC must have something similar.

Re: MW-Subsystem refactoring (Task #107)

Posted: 09 Jul 2012, 14:12
by gus
That is just the default setting, right?
Yes. Changing it is very easy.

Re: MW-Subsystem refactoring (Task #107)

Posted: 11 Aug 2012, 09:06
by gus
Some of your changes with the dialogue manager are causing problems on windows (hope i post in the right topic).
Visual Studio is complaining in every dialogue related file because std::deque use a non defined type 'MWDialogue::StampedJournalEntry'.

I think the problems come from line 28 of journal.h but i'm not sure.

Re: MW-Subsystem refactoring (Task #107)

Posted: 11 Aug 2012, 11:18
by Zini
Got notified about this problem yesterday by another MSVC user. I used to complain about gcc error messages, but now I am convinced that MSVC's error messages suck even more. I wasn't able to pinpoint the problem and had to resolve to the brute force method (including the headers in the interface header instead of using forward declarations). The fix is in master now.

Re: MW-Subsystem refactoring (Task #107)

Posted: 12 Aug 2012, 14:46
by scrawl
Could you merge decouple branch into master, before I start rewriting the input system?

Edit: Just merged it locally in my branch, should be fine I guess