Ashes of Apocalypse

Everything about development and the OpenMW source code.
maqifrnswa
Posts: 180
Joined: 14 Jan 2013, 03:57

Re: Ashes of Apocalypse

Post by maqifrnswa » 15 Mar 2015, 18:42

Sounds great! Probably should have some statement that if you want a new asset in AoA it must be cc-by-sa 2.0. This way it doesn't end up a mess of licenses and content pulled in from all over the internet

Envy123
Posts: 45
Joined: 23 Aug 2013, 16:26

Re: Ashes of Apocalypse

Post by Envy123 » 16 Apr 2015, 11:47

maqifrnswa wrote:Sounds great! Probably should have some statement that if you want a new asset in AoA it must be cc-by-sa 2.0. This way it doesn't end up a mess of licenses and content pulled in from all over the internet
I'm trying to change Desert Region 2 into a Desert Region 3, with no vanilla assets.

I really want to use Vurt's Ashland trees but I'm afraid that it's not cc-by-sa 2.0. I also need brand new ash storms and snowy weather.

User avatar
psi29a
Posts: 4637
Joined: 29 Sep 2011, 10:13
Location: Belgium
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/
Contact:

Re: Ashes of Apocalypse

Post by psi29a » 16 Apr 2015, 12:00

Ask permission... :) Try to convince the author if you can find him to re-release their work under the new license.

Tinker
Posts: 230
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 17:35

Re: Ashes of Apocalypse

Post by Tinker » 16 Apr 2015, 12:53

You can contact Vurt at http://forums.nexusmods.com/index.php?a ... erID=41808 He has given permission in the past to people doing other conversions though technically you may not need his permission. The mods come with no readme, no contact details and no license so many be regarded in the public domain, I would still ask though just to be safe and polite.
Arch Linux - rolling release, always up to date, often partly broken.

K0kt409P
Posts: 148
Joined: 06 Aug 2013, 09:14

Re: Ashes of Apocalypse

Post by K0kt409P » 16 Apr 2015, 14:22

Tinker wrote:You can contact Vurt at http://forums.nexusmods.com/index.php?a ... erID=41808 He has given permission in the past to people doing other conversions though technically you may not need his permission. The mods come with no readme, no contact details and no license so many be regarded in the public domain, I would still ask though just to be safe and polite.
Per the Berne convention, if no explicit license exist copyright defaults to all rights reserved, not public domain. This is true even if the author is unknown. [1]

1. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Comm ... mous_works

Envy123
Posts: 45
Joined: 23 Aug 2013, 16:26

Re: Ashes of Apocalypse

Post by Envy123 » 16 Apr 2015, 18:14

I decided to scrap the northern island, so I can work on getting a story done :)

The Ashes of Apocalypse mod should, in the end, have no vanilla assets at all.

User avatar
psi29a
Posts: 4637
Joined: 29 Sep 2011, 10:13
Location: Belgium
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/
Contact:

Re: Ashes of Apocalypse

Post by psi29a » 16 Apr 2015, 20:35

Thanks K0kt409P, to me, this should go in the FAQ as well...

User avatar
taknamay
Posts: 68
Joined: 01 May 2013, 13:22

Re: Ashes of Apocalypse

Post by taknamay » 27 Jun 2015, 21:13

Is the patched version downloadable, or is that not allowed because of the Bethesda assets?

User avatar
psi29a
Posts: 4637
Joined: 29 Sep 2011, 10:13
Location: Belgium
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/
Contact:

Re: Ashes of Apocalypse

Post by psi29a » 27 Jun 2015, 22:50

You can download 1.0 and the 1.1 patch yourself. I posted already in this thread an owmgame that you can use to fixes a few bugs in AoA that would force OpenMW to crash. Morrowind would just default the first on the list probably.

I haven't put much effort in this because I've been busy with other things. I am happy to work with people who do have time though. :)

User avatar
taknamay
Posts: 68
Joined: 01 May 2013, 13:22

Re: Ashes of Apocalypse

Post by taknamay » 28 Jun 2015, 01:36

psi29a wrote:You can download 1.0 and the 1.1 patch yourself. I posted already in this thread an owmgame that you can use to fixes a few bugs in AoA that would force OpenMW to crash. Morrowind would just default the first on the list probably.

I haven't put much effort in this because I've been busy with other things. I am happy to work with people who do have time though. :)
Thanks, I looked through the thread but didn't see the link. Now I found it, I can't wait to try this out.

EDIT: I have been trying to follow your instructions very carefully, but I am completely stuck :(

Morrowind.ini is in Local_Programs/Morrowind
Morrowind.esm is in Local_Programs/Morrowind/Data Files

I possess aoa1_1.zip and aoa_openmw_fixes_v1.tar.bz2, but am not sure what location to put the files so OpenMW can detect it.

Please send help :(

Unrelated note: What would be the best way to contribute if I wanted to move this project forward? I keep hearing about skeletons, can you get that sort of thing from Open Game Art?

Post Reply