OpenNuka

For new and upcoming OpenMW branches and ports; move fast and break things!
CaveDoctor

OpenNuka

Post by CaveDoctor »

I want to see what needs to be done and who would be interested in helping me assemble a team for a fork of OpenMW.
I'm not a coder by any means, but I'm willing to learn code to work on this project.
I want to start a project for running the fallout games on this fork.
Any code developed from our fork will be shared with the OpenMW community.
The Project will either be called OpenNuka or Bottlecap.

V1 of Open Nuka will target three games to run.
Oblivion, Fallout 3, and Fallout New Vegas.

V2 of Open Nuka will target three games to run as well,
Skyrim, Fallout 4, and Fallout 76

V3
TES6 and Starfield?

I spoke with someone on reddit and we came to the conclusion the first thing that needs to be done to get this project off of the ground is to run .BSA files on the software.
Is there a .BSA commander type program that is open source?
psi29a
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/

Re: OpenNuka

Post by psi29a »

Moving this thread to Other Forks & Ports

Have a talk with cc9cii, he has done a lot of work and it is sitting on his branch somewhere (I think?).

You don't have to 'name' your fork, but whatever. :)

Most of the work, I believe, was in supporting the NIF and BSA formats from Oblivion, Skyrim and Fallout3 so that is a _very_ good starting place. The branch was made before our switch to OSG, so there will be some work done there on getting it up to speed.

I suggest doing small increments and if the work being done is NIF/BSA related, then it is best to get that merged upstream to OpenMW proper. That way everyone benefits, including OpenMW proper which you'll likely keep rebasing/merging against in OpenNuka. Try to keep the delta/change as small as possible helps when OpenMW makes new releases so that it is easier for you guys to pull in new changes.