MCP-like menu

Feedback on past, current, and future development.
Biboran
Posts: 80
Joined: 03 Feb 2016, 12:50

MCP-like menu

Post by Biboran » 07 Aug 2017, 06:56

Hi guys! In game you added some MCP fixes, but to activete them you need use console. Is there way add menu in launcher, where you can on and off this options without using console?

User avatar
Thunderforge
Posts: 154
Joined: 06 Jun 2017, 05:57
Github profile: https://github.com/Thunderforge

Re: MCP-like menu

Post by Thunderforge » 07 Aug 2017, 18:15

Which fixes in particular are you wanting to see in the launcher?

Biboran
Posts: 80
Joined: 03 Feb 2016, 12:50

Re: MCP-like menu

Post by Biboran » 09 Aug 2017, 16:29

All that opotional and activated trouth console, if it possible. Like fix for traders not wearing what they sell and some more.
It is hadd to find that you may activate them - this information only on wiki, and simple menu will be much more usable.
Thanx.

User avatar
akortunov
Posts: 146
Joined: 13 Mar 2017, 13:49
Location: Samara, Russian Federation
Github profile: https://github.com/akortunov

Re: MCP-like menu

Post by akortunov » 09 Aug 2017, 16:40

I think we can add a tab to launcher for settings file configuring, similar to MCP configurator.

User avatar
Berandas
Posts: 86
Joined: 28 Oct 2012, 11:23
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: MCP-like menu

Post by Berandas » 10 Aug 2017, 15:21

Personally I would love to see this too, so the overview with checkboxes in the launcher sounds like a good way to go. ;)

User avatar
ap0
Posts: 247
Joined: 11 Aug 2011, 18:47
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MCP-like menu

Post by ap0 » 10 Aug 2017, 18:09

Why in the launcher and not in game menu?

User avatar
Jemolk
Posts: 23
Joined: 20 Mar 2017, 02:12
Location: Sadrith Mora

Re: MCP-like menu

Post by Jemolk » 10 Aug 2017, 18:35

ap0 wrote:
10 Aug 2017, 18:09
Why in the launcher and not in game menu?
Why the launcher? Because it can be implemented sooner and more easily, I should say. Getting it in the in-game menu should probably be the long-term goal, but for now, I'd rather see it implemented sooner rather than later. Dunno about anyone else, but making it easy to work with now seems a higher priority than making it a breeze to work with in half a year.

User avatar
akortunov
Posts: 146
Joined: 13 Mar 2017, 13:49
Location: Samara, Russian Federation
Github profile: https://github.com/akortunov

Re: MCP-like menu

Post by akortunov » 10 Aug 2017, 20:19

ap0 wrote:
10 Aug 2017, 18:09
Why in the launcher and not in game menu?
Some settings change could require a game restart anyway.
Also we have no way to localize new strings (post-1.0 feature), so we can not implement in-game menu until 1.0. A launcher does not have this restriction.

User avatar
Lenny
Posts: 16
Joined: 01 Nov 2014, 17:34
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: MCP-like menu

Post by Lenny » 14 Aug 2017, 17:04

I'm intrigued - what are the console commands for these fixes?

User avatar
Thunderforge
Posts: 154
Joined: 06 Jun 2017, 05:57
Github profile: https://github.com/Thunderforge

Re: MCP-like menu

Post by Thunderforge » 29 Aug 2017, 03:43

Here are some mockups I made for a potential MCP-like menu:
Settings.png
Graphics.png
I think that "Settings" is the best name for this section, so I decided to move the current grouping to "Installation". Also, some settings are better suited for the "Graphics" tab, so I moved it there.

I think that it is best to only have the settings here that cannot be controlled in game.

One thing I was wondering: should we rename this section "Experimental"? That would make it clear that these are settings that are not fully supported or available in-game.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests