Dual Wielding via animation layering?

Feedback on past, current, and future development.
Markelius

Dual Wielding via animation layering?

Post by Markelius »

So I realize combat and animation layering hasn't even been implemented yet, but I had an idea I wanted to ask about here. So mirrored versions of Morrowind's animations are available for people who want to play left handed characters, my question is would OpenMw be able to make use of those in order to have dual wielding?

Say you equip two shortswords, one in each hand. When clicking one button you attack with one, and the right handed animation plays, and when clicking another you attack with the other weapon, and the left handed animation plays.

Seeing as how the animations are already out there, I thought this may be relatively easy to implement art-wise, but I'm no programmer, so could someone tell me if this is doable?
nnayo

Re: Dual Wielding via animation layering?

Post by nnayo »

nice idea!
that's enough of the rigth-handed people dictak!!! :D
Glorfdev

Post by Glorfdev »

Remember that right mouse button opens character menu... It could be a problem :D

Anyway, it could be possible only via engine plug-in (so very, very post-1.0)
Markelius

Post by Markelius »

Glorfdev wrote:Remember that right mouse button opens character menu... It could be a problem :D

Anyway, it could be possible only via engine plug-in (so very, very post-1.0)
In Skyrim I don't use the right click for it anyways, it won't really be that much of a problem because users should be able to set the secondary attack key to any button they choose.

And what do you mean "only via engine plugin" "post-1.0"? Does this mean it would never be part of any of the main builds? I guess that makes sense considering you'd need to distribute the extra animations for it. But how difficult would this be to implement? As I said I don't know really anything about programming so you'll have to enlighten me on that. :P
Glorfdev