Unable to train - any ideas?

General discussion regarding the OpenMW project.
For technical support, please use the Support subforum.
OldGamer

Unable to train - any ideas?

Post by OldGamer »

I recently installed OpenMW. Morrowind was my favorite game for years after it came out, but I haven't played it in probably 15 years. Anyway, I'm having a problem. I'm trying to train Speechcraft with Caius Cosades. My speechcraft is 35 and my Personality is 55. However, when I try to train with him it says, "can't train above governing attribute".

Does anyone know why this might be? I figure I must be missing something obvious, but I can't figure out what it is. I have plenty of money, and I think he's a 70 level trainer.

Sorry if this isn't the correct forum - I'm new to OpenMW and this forum.
LoneWolf

Re: Unable to train - any ideas?

Post by LoneWolf »

Is part of those 55 coming from a birthsign ability (probably Lady's Favor) ?

Morrowind handles artifacts with fortify attribute the same as openmw , but for birthsign abilities openmw does things differently .

birthsign abilities that increase attributes (like those from The Lady and The Steed) don't count for training in openmw .

See [1] for a (long) discussion about this topic.

There is a mod[2] that changes this, but I think it only works upon character creation so for a new game.

[1] viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5081
[2] https://modding-openmw.com/mods/vanilla ... by-klorax/
OldGamer

Post by OldGamer »