Comments on first try

General discussion regarding the OpenMW project.
For technical support, please use the Support subforum.
Time4Tea

Comments on first try

Post by Time4Tea »

Hi,

I'm a fan of Morrowind and I downloaded and tried OpenMW just now. I just wanted to give a handful of comments based on my first impression. I made a new character and played for about an hour and a half, doing some things around Seyda Neen. Not using any mods, just the vanilla game (I'm not very experienced with mods in general).
  • The first thing I noticed was that the resolution for the intro videos and main menu weren't right. The image was compressed horizontally, with black bars at the sides. However, the screen size and resolution in-game seemed fine. I am playing 1920 x 1080 on Windows 8. Playing around with the graphics settings, either in the launcher or from the main menu didn't seem to resolve it. Could that be a bug, or is it known?
  • I read somewhere that OpenMW allows the view distance to be increased; however, the view distance seems similar to the original, with a white haze a certain distance from the player. Am I missing a setting somewhere for that?
  • I take it it's not possible to transfer saved game files to OpenMW from the original game? (I noticed that the file formats seem to be different)
Otherwise, the game seemed to run great and looks fantastic. I'm looking forward to running through a complete game!

Thanks for what you are doing on the very cool project! :-)
Capostrophic

Re: Comments on first try

Post by Capostrophic »

1. Not a bug. Menu/loading screen backgrounds lack aspect information (they're 2048x1024, stretched from whatever aspect they're supposed to be), so it's forcibly set to 4:3. This allows vanilla textures to not be stretched. You can disable the forced aspect by adjusting this setting, this will allow widescreen-intended background textures to work.