Newbie here going into Morrowind for the first time, any suggestions/advice/ whatever else for me?

General discussion regarding the OpenMW project.
For technical support, please use the Support subforum.
Sol33t303

Newbie here going into Morrowind for the first time, any suggestions/advice/ whatever else for me?

Post by Sol33t303 »

I just recently got Morrowind for free thanks to Bethesdas 25th anniversary celebration.
I have only played Skyrim and Oblivion in the past and enjoyed them a lot. From what I have heard many people also like Morrowind. What advice and/or suggestions would you give to a newcomer? Things like mods, what to do/what not to do, etc.
Thanks in advance :)
raevol

Re: Newbie here going into Morrowind for the first time, any suggestions/advice/ whatever else for me?

Post by raevol »

Everyone's going to have their own take on what's best for a newbie! Here's mine:

Get the official mods, and then just play the game! Once you've gotten a taste for how it was originally designed, then you can start adding content or changing this around if you feel like. Personally, I play with a bare minimum of mods and still haven't "finished" the game. I've completed the main quest, but I haven't been everywhere or done everything in the game, it's always there waiting for me to do a little more.
wareya

Re: Newbie here going into Morrowind for the first time, any suggestions/advice/ whatever else for me?

Post by wareya »

Fill your inventory with health and fatigue potions.

Save constantly and make lots of backup saves.

Fatigue affects almost every diceroll in the game, and also random stuff like bartering.

Expect to have your attacks miss and spells fail to cast pretty often until you're high level.

Don't play a "pure" character on a first playthrough. You want to explore the game's mechanics.

If you get attacked by assassins in your sleep, just kill them. The game autosaves before you sleep anyway, so don't freak out or worry about dying.
lysol