Updating OpenMW

General discussion regarding the OpenMW project.
For technical support, please use the Support subforum.
Post Reply
PrimordialBronze
Posts: 39
Joined: 05 May 2016, 18:19

Updating OpenMW

Post by PrimordialBronze » 18 Sep 2016, 22:34

How do I do this? I'm used to clicking a couple buttons followed by downloading/installing then it's done after another click or two. Thanks.

User avatar
sjek
Posts: 437
Joined: 22 Nov 2014, 10:51

Re: Updating OpenMW

Post by sjek » 19 Sep 2016, 08:15

if on windows: download the new release or nigtlies and install to new location or delete old one and to same. if to different location, make a new shortcut and you'r set.
"life is crazy"
"craziness has beauty which only crazies understand" some movie clip in the head.
https://wiki.openmw.org/index.php?title=Testing

User avatar
Svetomech
Posts: 69
Joined: 01 Jun 2014, 12:51
Location: Moscow
Contact:

Re: Updating OpenMW

Post by Svetomech » 19 Sep 2016, 12:35

Or simply use Chocolatey.

User avatar
AnyOldName3
Posts: 1855
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 03:25

Re: Updating OpenMW

Post by AnyOldName3 » 19 Sep 2016, 13:41

Currently, the Chocolatey package doesn't update cleanly. You need to uninstall the previous version before installing the new one. Ace is aware of this, though, so it might be fixed at some point.
AnyOldName3, Master of Shadows

PrimordialBronze
Posts: 39
Joined: 05 May 2016, 18:19

Re: Updating OpenMW

Post by PrimordialBronze » 19 Sep 2016, 19:44

Oops just installed .40 with .39 still in. Is there something I need to do remedy the situation? Or is it no biggy just uninstall .39 and more than likely everything is good? Windows 64-bit btw. Does this mean new profiles every update? Not to concerned if so.

User avatar
lysol
Posts: 1424
Joined: 26 Mar 2013, 01:48
Location: Sweden

Re: Updating OpenMW

Post by lysol » 19 Sep 2016, 20:27

PrimordialBronze wrote:Oops just installed .40 with .39 still in. Is there something I need to do remedy the situation? Or is it no biggy just uninstall .39 and more than likely everything is good? Windows 64-bit btw. Does this mean new profiles every update? Not to concerned if so.
Just uninstall .39, so no biggie. No new profiles required either. All the settings and saves are stored in my documents, so they will still be there when you uninstall the old version and install a new version.
Normal mapped texture replacers, exclusive for OpenMW:
My Nexus page

PrimordialBronze
Posts: 39
Joined: 05 May 2016, 18:19

Re: Updating OpenMW

Post by PrimordialBronze » 20 Sep 2016, 22:04

Hallelujah, will do this later today, thanks.

Post Reply