Distant Land + View Distance yeilds low FPS on solid system?

Support for running, installing or compiling OpenMW

Before you submit a bug report for the first time, please read: Bug reporting guidelines
GreenWitcher
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2020, 02:31

Distant Land + View Distance yeilds low FPS on solid system?

Post by GreenWitcher » 19 Mar 2020, 02:44

Hey there. Might be a bit of an obvious answer to this, but this is the first time I ever used OpenMW after not checking on it for years. I've got a GTX 1080 Ti, i7 3770k, and 16 GB DDR3 memory. And still, with distant lands and max view distance selected, the FPS is extremely low. Granted, I'm running a multi-monitor resolution (it has to be the best way to revisit Morrowind) of 5760x1080, but honestly I sort of thought that OpenMW would be a departure in performance compared to old Morrowind. Is there something I'm missing? No other game performs this badly, so I'm guessing the project hasn't hit its peak it I suppose.

EDIT: I also forgot to ask about the minimap and stat bars on the left and right. Is there anyway to move those closer to the center?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

CMAugust
Posts: 247
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 00:13

Re: Distant Land + View Distance yeilds low FPS on solid system?

Post by CMAugust » 19 Mar 2020, 03:11

Did you increase the exterior cell load distance setting? If so, there's your culprit. If not, it's something else.

GreenWitcher
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2020, 02:31

Re: Distant Land + View Distance yeilds low FPS on solid system?

Post by GreenWitcher » 19 Mar 2020, 04:21

CMAugust wrote:
19 Mar 2020, 03:11
Did you increase the exterior cell load distance setting? If so, there's your culprit. If not, it's something else.
Ah, I definitely missed that one. Where would I find it?

GreenWitcher
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2020, 02:31

Re: Distant Land + View Distance yeilds low FPS on solid system?

Post by GreenWitcher » 19 Mar 2020, 06:16

You know what, the FPS is suddenly better today. I don't know what happened but I think it was a problem after playing Morrowind + MGE XE. Anyway I looked at the .ini and the setting was already at 1. I tried putting it to .5 and .9, but that causes the terrian to be missing in huge chunks. Maybe I'm using the setting wrong? Or anything else?

CMAugust
Posts: 247
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 00:13

Re: Distant Land + View Distance yeilds low FPS on solid system?

Post by CMAugust » 19 Mar 2020, 10:57

No, leave it at 1, I was just checking you hadn't set it higher. Glad your fps issue resolved itself.

Unfortunately I have no experience in fiddling with the minimap and other HUD objects, so can't help you there.

Time4Tea
Posts: 110
Joined: 01 Jan 2020, 00:27

Re: Distant Land + View Distance yeilds low FPS on solid system?

Post by Time4Tea » 19 Mar 2020, 17:49

What sort of FPS are you getting? I use an exterior cell load of 4 with object shadows, on what is probably an inferior system than yours (i5 3330 with Nvidia GTX 1050 GPU) and the FPS rarely drops below 20, even in relatively crowded settlement areas. Are you using a groundcover mod (as that will surely tank your FPS)?

Did you try it on a single monitor at a lower resolution first, to make sure everything is good before scaling up?

Also, you can press F3 in-game to show the current FPS. Pressing it again shows a more detailed breakdown of what is limiting the perfomance and cycles through a bunch of other rendering-related data.

Time4Tea
Posts: 110
Joined: 01 Jan 2020, 00:27

Re: Distant Land + View Distance yeilds low FPS on solid system?

Post by Time4Tea » 19 Mar 2020, 20:39

5760x1080 is basically three 1920x1080 monitors in a row horizontally, right? So, presumably with that, you are increasing your horizontal field of view, not just increasing the screen resolution. In that case, you are potentially drawing up to 3x as many objects on the screen at once as you would with a single monitor. So, it doesn't seem surprising that would cause a big hit to your FPS in a game that is quite CPU-limited like Morrowind.

GreenWitcher
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2020, 02:31

Re: Distant Land + View Distance yeilds low FPS on solid system?

Post by GreenWitcher » 24 Mar 2020, 08:29

No mods, just vanilla. With distant lands enabled and max view distancing, I dip down to 15's at the very worst areas.

Is there another setting I can bring down to squeeze more performance out?

Time4Tea
Posts: 110
Joined: 01 Jan 2020, 00:27

Re: Distant Land + View Distance yeilds low FPS on solid system?

Post by Time4Tea » 24 Mar 2020, 12:54

GreenWitcher wrote:
24 Mar 2020, 08:29
No mods, just vanilla. With distant lands enabled and max view distancing, I dip down to 15's at the very worst areas.

Is there another setting I can bring down to squeeze more performance out?
This is my ~/.local/share/openmw/settings.cfg file. Maybe you can compare to yours? I use distant terrain with a view distance of 60,000 (but only 1 monitor at 1920x1080):

Code: Select all

# This is the OpenMW user 'settings.cfg' file.  This file only contains
# explicitly changed settings.  If you would like to revert a setting
# to its default, simply remove it from this file.  For available
# settings, see the file 'settings-default.cfg' or the documentation at:
#
#   https://openmw.readthedocs.io/en/master/reference/modding/settings/index.html

[Video]
fullscreen = true
resolution x = 1920
resolution y = 1080
gamma = 1.25983

vsync = false
antialiasing = 0
framerate limit = 150
window border = false
[Camera]
field of view = 56.4827

viewing distance = 60000

# Near clipping plane (>0.0, e.g. 0.01 to 18.0).
near clip = 1

# Cull objects that occupy less than 'small feature culling pixel size' on the screen.
small feature culling = true

small feature culling pixel size = 1.0

[Saves]
character = Omicron_the_Great

[Windows]
inventory h = 0.410185
inventory w = 0.510417
inventory x = 0.0078125
inventory y = 0.533333
map h = 0.53125
map w = 0.474609
map x = 0.525391
map y = 0
spells h = 0.460938
spells w = 0.460938
spells x = 0.53125
spells y = 0.527344
stats h = 0.510185
stats w = 0.474479
stats x = 0.0140625
stats y = 0.0138889

inventory container h = 0.43
inventory container w = 0.45
inventory container x = 0.015
inventory container y = 0.49
inventory barter h = 0.383333
inventory barter w = 0.4625
inventory barter x = 0.015
inventory barter y = 0.54
console h = 0.409259
console w = 0.661458
console x = 0.122396
console y = 0.0814815
[General]
anisotropy = 6

[Water]
reflect actors = false
refraction = true
rtt size = 1024
shader = true

reflection detail = 2
[Map]
global = true

[Sound]
music volume = 0.645365
sfx volume = 0.741174
voice volume = 0.763576

footsteps volume = 0.469647
[GUI]
# Stretch menus, load screens, etc. to the window aspect ratio.
stretch menu background = true

menu transparency = 0.737974
[Terrain]

# If true, use paging and LOD algorithms to display the entire terrain. If false, only display terrain of the loaded cells
distant terrain = true

[Cells]
# Adjacent exterior cells loaded (>0). Caution: this setting can
# dramatically affect performance, see documentation for details.
exterior cell load distance = 4

[Input]
always run = false

[Shadows]
actor shadows = false
enable shadows = true
object shadows = true
terrain shadows = true
shadow fade start = 0.7

maximum shadow map distance = 5000
[Game]
actors processing range = 5472

GreenWitcher
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Mar 2020, 02:31

Re: Distant Land + View Distance yeilds low FPS on solid system?

Post by GreenWitcher » 24 Mar 2020, 13:26

Hmm, not sure if you're on Windows, but I'm using a the latest nightly build and I tried going to "C:\Users\ *Username* \Documents\my games\OpenMW" and found the settings.cfg, but it doesn't have things like Cells and Terrian in it. But the settings-default.cfg file in the install directory has that. I saw somewhere that the default file isn't the right file to edit for Cells and Terrian but I'm not sure since it's the only file I can find that has those setting options. Is that the right directory for the settings.cfg? A bit confused, sorry. Also, it mentions I'm using a view distancing of 4089, so that definitely can't be the problem unless I'm using the wrong file.

Post Reply