Real-time inventory/map/dialogue

Feedback on past, current, and future development.
Tes96

Real-time inventory/map/dialogue

Post by Tes96 »

Will OpenMW allow for the feature of no game-pause during inventory, journal, book-reading, map or dialogue? One thing I like since I started playing TES Online is that time continues to go and the world still continues despite what you're doing. I don't like that you can't pause, and thankfully we can still pause Morrowind by hitting the ESC key or the console key.

This should be something that is optional, of course. A lot of times in battle, playing a pure mage, I take a while to choose what spell to use next. Real time gaming would make that so much more difficult. And while I would love that, a lot of players might not.
Mistahtokyo

Re: Real-time inventory/map/dialogue

Post by Mistahtokyo »

This would be a great post 1.0 option imo, though chances are it'll be mod-added. The menus work like that in Dark souls 1&2 and it forces you to be aware of what's going on around you while you search for health potions to chug, etc.
Tes96

Post by Tes96 »

Mistahtokyo wrote:This would be a great post 1.0 option imo, though chances are it'll be mod-added. The menus work like that in Dark souls 1&2 and it forces you to be aware of what's going on around you while you search for health potions to chug, etc.
Sounds like something I would very much enjoy. Thanks.
Tes96

Post by Tes96 »

Something else that I noticed that is annoying is the limitation of text in the dialogue box. You know how in some large conversations you have to use the "Continue" choice in order to see what else the NPC has to say? Will OpenMW allow for unlimited text (or at least a very very long line of text) in a single conversation so that we don't have to use that "Continue" choice any more.... for future mods, any ways. The vanilla dialogue that has "Continue" will remain as is unless someone changes it.
Chris

Post by Chris »