Frame rate is Going below 4 fps

Support for running, installing or compiling OpenMW

Before you submit a bug report for the first time, please read: Bug reporting guidelines
Post Reply
KingOfZippers
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 Apr 2020, 20:43

Frame rate is Going below 4 fps

Post by KingOfZippers » 30 Apr 2020, 20:52

So the main problem I've been having with OpenMW so far has been the fact that my frames drop to abysmal levels whenever i enter an exterior cell. I don't know what could be causing it and i know its not related to the mods I'm using because I've run the game without anything but the two main expansions and the frame rate is still shite.

EDIT: My graphics card is an AMD R9 290 an my processor is an I5-4460


screenshot002.png
screenshot002.png (736.54 KiB) Viewed 995 times

User avatar
Jemolk
Posts: 226
Joined: 20 Mar 2017, 02:12
Location: Sadrith Mora

Re: Frame rate is Going below 4 fps

Post by Jemolk » 01 May 2020, 00:36

Well, it's definitely the physics thread, the screenshot definitely shows that. Ouch. What version of OpenMW are you using, and what operating system? Those are probably the biggest questions.

User avatar
psi29a
Posts: 4915
Joined: 29 Sep 2011, 10:13
Location: Belgium
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/
Contact:

Re: Frame rate is Going below 4 fps

Post by psi29a » 01 May 2020, 14:55

Perhaps provide a save-game that we can use for testing?

jmelesky
Posts: 45
Joined: 02 Mar 2017, 20:52

Re: Frame rate is Going below 4 fps

Post by jmelesky » 01 May 2020, 19:12

Probably also worth showing your settings.cfg -- are you perhaps setting "exterior cell load distance"?

Time4Tea
Posts: 110
Joined: 01 Jan 2020, 00:27

Re: Frame rate is Going below 4 fps

Post by Time4Tea » 02 May 2020, 14:20

jmelesky wrote:
01 May 2020, 19:12
Probably also worth showing your settings.cfg -- are you perhaps setting "exterior cell load distance"?
Only ~1000 drawables, so seems unlikely ECLD is very high? That physics bar is nuts!

CMAugust
Posts: 253
Joined: 10 Jan 2016, 00:13

Re: Frame rate is Going below 4 fps

Post by CMAugust » 02 May 2020, 22:05

Might as well see what happens when you type resetactors into the console as well.

Post Reply