Page 1 of 1

[Solved] The crosshair is not visible despite being enabled in settings

Posted: 01 Apr 2019, 08:41
by NordPaladin
Crosshair - sight is not in the game. Enabled in the settings.
Made screen on dark the surface. To make sure.
Spoiler: Show
Spoiler: Show

Re: Сrosshair. Aim.

Posted: 01 Apr 2019, 09:28
by akortunov
Make sure you do not use the crosshair (target.dds) replacer with increased resolution, it should have the 32x32 size.

Re: Сrosshair. Aim.

Posted: 02 Apr 2019, 10:07
by NordPaladin
akortunov wrote:
01 Apr 2019, 09:28
Make sure you do not use the crosshair (target.dds) replacer with increased resolution, it should have the 32x32 size.
I don't use target.dds.

Re: Сrosshair. Aim.

Posted: 02 Apr 2019, 20:13
by silentthief
Are you on a Mac? I seem to remember that there was some wonkyness with the crosshairs with some users on Macs. Please give us your setup info (OS/build #/ where you got the install -nightlies or official release) and output from the openmw.log?

ST

Re: Сrosshair. Aim.

Posted: 03 Apr 2019, 15:25
by NordPaladin
silentthief wrote:
02 Apr 2019, 20:13
Are you on a Mac? I seem to remember that there was some wonkyness with the crosshairs with some users on Macs. Please give us your setup info (OS/build #/ where you got the install -nightlies or official release) and output from the openmw.log?
PC/ build - I don't understand what you're saying. (0.45.0 installed)/ where you got the instal - downloaded here on site..
Spoiler: Show

Re: Сrosshair. Aim.

Posted: 03 Apr 2019, 16:06
by silentthief
NordPaladin wrote:
03 Apr 2019, 15:25
PC/ build - I don't understand what you're saying. (0.45.0 installed)/ where you got the instal - downloaded here on site..
was able to see that you are using windows from the openmw.log (and if you downloaded it here, it was the official release not one of the nightly bugfix releases), however was not able to tell why the crosshair is not showing. Perhaps one of the other troubleshooting people has an idea??

ST

Re: Сrosshair. Aim.

Posted: 03 Apr 2019, 16:47
by akortunov
There is a roughly 80% chance that you use a non-32x32-size target.dds despite you claim that you do not.
The only thing I can suggest to do is to put a target.dds from the attached ZIP-archive to the F:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\Morrowind\Data Files\Textures to make sure the texture itself is valid.
NordPaladin wrote:
02 Apr 2019, 10:07
I don't use target.dds.
But both Morrowind and OpenMW do. It should be either in the Morrowind.bsa or in the the Data Files\Textures folder. Otherwise there would be an error about missing target.dds in the log.

Re: Сrosshair. Aim.

Posted: 04 Apr 2019, 10:31
by NordPaladin
silentthief wrote:
03 Apr 2019, 16:06
was able to see that you are using windows from the openmw.log
Well it is necessary. And the that I wrote the PC - personal computer. This does not mean that I use Windows... LOL

Re: Сrosshair. Aim.

Posted: 04 Apr 2019, 10:40
by NordPaladin
akortunov wrote:
03 Apr 2019, 16:47
There is a roughly 80% chance that you use a non-32x32-size target.dds despite you claim that you do not.
The only thing I can suggest to do is to put a target.dds from the attached ZIP-archive to the F:\SteamLibrary\steamapps\common\Morrowind\Data Files\Textures to make sure the texture itself is valid.
NordPaladin wrote:
02 Apr 2019, 10:07
I don't use target.dds.
But both Morrowind and OpenMW do. It should be either in the Morrowind.bsa or in the the Data Files\Textures folder. Otherwise there would be an error about missing target.dds in the log.
Thanks for the file. Helped. I did have a target file of 128x128 pixels.

Re: [Solved] The crosshair is not visible despite being enabled in settings

Posted: 04 Apr 2019, 13:27
by lysol
I edited the topic title to be more descriptive for future googlers. Glad your problem was solved!