Can't use console commands

Support for running, installing or compiling OpenMW

Before you submit a bug report for the first time, please read: Bug reporting guidelines
Post Reply
kajsakajsa
Posts: 10
Joined: 30 Jul 2018, 18:10

Can't use console commands

Post by kajsakajsa » 02 Aug 2018, 16:31

I started a new Morrowind game on win 10 with Open MW 0.44.0, and I can't use the console. The console opens, but nothing happens when I try to write a command. No letters are showing and the little "cursor" doesn't move at all. And nothing happens with the door I try to unlock. So, what is wrong? Is there something I should do?

User avatar
Capostrophic
Posts: 662
Joined: 22 Feb 2016, 20:32

Re: Can't use console commands

Post by Capostrophic » 02 Aug 2018, 17:07

See this thread. Apparently something's wrong with the console font rendering.
Described thing happens if you don't have DejavuSans-blah-blah-blah font installed in your resources/mygui folder, but I have no idea if it's the same issue. Windows builds are packaged properly as far as I can tell.

kajsakajsa
Posts: 10
Joined: 30 Jul 2018, 18:10

Re: Can't use console commands

Post by kajsakajsa » 03 Aug 2018, 07:40

So, there is nothing I can do..?

User avatar
Capostrophic
Posts: 662
Joined: 22 Feb 2016, 20:32

Re: Can't use console commands

Post by Capostrophic » 03 Aug 2018, 07:49

You can check if this file is in that directory and loads properly.

kajsakajsa
Posts: 10
Joined: 30 Jul 2018, 18:10

Re: Can't use console commands

Post by kajsakajsa » 03 Aug 2018, 09:01

Yes, I have this file "DejaVuLGCSansMono.ttf " in my resources/mygui directory.

kajsakajsa
Posts: 10
Joined: 30 Jul 2018, 18:10

Re: Can't use console commands

Post by kajsakajsa » 03 Aug 2018, 09:04

How can I see if it loads properly?

User avatar
Capostrophic
Posts: 662
Joined: 22 Feb 2016, 20:32

Re: Can't use console commands

Post by Capostrophic » 03 Aug 2018, 10:30

Do you see any message about this file in openmw.log (your user profile folder/Documents/My Games/OpenMW) or during the game runtime in the appearing command prompt window? If you don't, then it's fine

kajsakajsa
Posts: 10
Joined: 30 Jul 2018, 18:10

Re: Can't use console commands

Post by kajsakajsa » 03 Aug 2018, 11:46

OK. I don' t see any messages. So I guess this file isn't the problem why I can't write in the console.

AstroLung
Posts: 1
Joined: 09 Apr 2019, 02:32

Re: Can't use console commands

Post by AstroLung » 09 Apr 2019, 03:09

Here's the solution which worked for me, running linux:

I copied "DejaVuSansMono.ttf" to [insert_username_here]/.config/openmw/Fonts and renamed it "DejaVuLGCSansMono.ttf"

I'm guessing there is a more elegant way to fix this, though.

As background and for search terms, the font (or a symlink) is at /usr/share/games/openmw/resources/mygui and seems to load fine, but openmw.log said that it failed to load, saying
DataManager::getData: Failed to open 'DejaVuLGCSansMono.ttf'

The problem might have something to do with https://openmw.readthedocs.io/en/stable ... /font.html . This link said to add a file, "openmw_font.xml", which points to the deja vu font, but doesn't specify a full path (for obvious reasons). That's how I figured out this fix, but I dunno if that's the actual reason or just a lucky guess.

This was for release 0.45.0, for future reference.

Post Reply