Questions about starting development

Support for running, installing or compiling OpenMW

Before you submit a bug report for the first time, please read: Bug reporting guidelines
iloveket
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Jun 2018, 19:27
Github profile: https://github.com/iloveket

Questions about starting development

Post by iloveket » 09 Jun 2018, 21:21

So I've had an interest in contributing to the open source of this project although I'm not an experienced developer, but I'd like to hopefully learn.

I'm having an issue with setting up a developer's environment; after following the guide on the Wiki, I get this message when I reached this step:

Image

Do I need the installation .exe for these both? Is there a git command I can do? Something else?

Sorry if this seems like a dumb question but I'm not experienced and I couldn't find an answer pertaining to the issue anywhere.

User avatar
AnyOldName3
Posts: 1122
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 03:25

Re: Questions about starting development

Post by AnyOldName3 » 09 Jun 2018, 21:38

You should probably read the 'what you need' section of the guide, too. It mentions that you need to have both CMake and 7zip installed and on your path (and suggests a way of doing so for Chocolatey users, but if you don't use Chocolatey, you'd do exactly what you'd normally do to install software and exactly what you'd normally do to add an application to your path).
AnyOldName3, Master of Shadows

iloveket
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Jun 2018, 19:27
Github profile: https://github.com/iloveket

Re: Questions about starting development

Post by iloveket » 09 Jun 2018, 21:49

AnyOldName3 wrote:
09 Jun 2018, 21:38
You should probably read the 'what you need' section of the guide, too. It mentions that you need to have both CMake and 7zip installed and on your path (and suggests a way of doing so for Chocolatey users, but if you don't use Chocolatey, you'd do exactly what you'd normally do to install software and exactly what you'd normally do to add an application to your path).
Okay, I've installed 7zip into the path, however I have an issue with Cmake where it's detecting an Uninstall.exe which is causing a conflict and prevents the installation. I've ensured that there's nothing else to do with Cmake in my directory apart from what was cloned to begin with.

Image

The uninstall .exe is 7zip's.

User avatar
AnyOldName3
Posts: 1122
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 03:25

Re: Questions about starting development

Post by AnyOldName3 » 09 Jun 2018, 22:07

Uninstall 7zip, as you've not installed it into The Path, just a path.

Putting something in The Path means adding the directory where it lives into the environment variable PATH, either by following these instruction to do it forever (https://www.howtogeek.com/118594/how-to ... ne-access/), or by modifying the environment variable directly from within the shell.
AnyOldName3, Master of Shadows

User avatar
AnyOldName3
Posts: 1122
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 03:25

Re: Questions about starting development

Post by AnyOldName3 » 09 Jun 2018, 22:16

I've added some clarification of this to the guide so no one else should get caught out by this in the future.
AnyOldName3, Master of Shadows

iloveket
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Jun 2018, 19:27
Github profile: https://github.com/iloveket

Re: Questions about starting development

Post by iloveket » 10 Jun 2018, 17:00

AnyOldName3 wrote:
09 Jun 2018, 22:16
I've added some clarification of this to the guide so no one else should get caught out by this in the future.
Thanks for adjusting the guide! If you're still available I have another problem.

I've installed Cmake okay to my PATH but it doesn't seem to be detecting 7z. This is my environment variables window:

Image

When I run the command in Git Bash:

Image

Does it expect me to target the .exe or just the directory of the 7zip folder?

User avatar
AnyOldName3
Posts: 1122
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 03:25

Re: Questions about starting development

Post by AnyOldName3 » 10 Jun 2018, 21:12

You've not added 7zip to your path. You've created a separate environment variable called '7z'. Just in case it makes it clearer, I've annotated the screenshot:
Untitled.png
hint
AnyOldName3, Master of Shadows

iloveket
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Jun 2018, 19:27
Github profile: https://github.com/iloveket

Re: Questions about starting development

Post by iloveket » 11 Jun 2018, 17:31

AnyOldName3 wrote:
10 Jun 2018, 21:12
You've not added 7zip to your path. You've created a separate environment variable called '7z'. Just in case it makes it clearer, I've annotated the screenshot:

Untitled.png
Thanks for claryifying, I was able to install it okay through git bash although I'm not seeing the solution file?

Image

I did a fresh installation ensuring that I followed the instructions exactly on the guide however I'm not seeing any sort of included solution for VS. Is it feasible just to create one and point it to the folder?

User avatar
AnyOldName3
Posts: 1122
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 03:25

Re: Questions about starting development

Post by AnyOldName3 » 11 Jun 2018, 20:11

Can you look through the output.log file? I think something broke at some point.
AnyOldName3, Master of Shadows

iloveket
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Jun 2018, 19:27
Github profile: https://github.com/iloveket

Re: Questions about starting development

Post by iloveket » 12 Jun 2018, 14:37

AnyOldName3 wrote:
11 Jun 2018, 20:11
Can you look through the output.log file? I think something broke at some point.
Thanks for pointing that out, I think I see the issue now.

Code: Select all

CMake Error at CMakeLists.txt:30 (project):
  Generator

    Visual Studio 15 2017 Win64

  could not find any instance of Visual Studio.



-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also "C:/openmw-dev/openmw/MSVC2017_64/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log".
I seem to have VS 2017 installed though? Community edition that is.

Image

My command invocation was for 64-bit since I'm on Windows 10.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests