Questions about starting development

Support for running, installing or compiling OpenMW

Before you submit a bug report for the first time, please read: Bug reporting guidelines
iloveket

Questions about starting development

Post by iloveket »

So I've had an interest in contributing to the open source of this project although I'm not an experienced developer, but I'd like to hopefully learn.

I'm having an issue with setting up a developer's environment; after following the guide on the Wiki, I get this message when I reached this step:

Do I need the installation .exe for these both? Is there a git command I can do? Something else?

Sorry if this seems like a dumb question but I'm not experienced and I couldn't find an answer pertaining to the issue anywhere.
AnyOldName3

Re: Questions about starting development

Post by AnyOldName3 »

You should probably read the 'what you need' section of the guide, too. It mentions that you need to have both CMake and 7zip installed and on your path (and suggests a way of doing so for Chocolatey users, but if you don't use Chocolatey, you'd do exactly what you'd normally do to install software and exactly what you'd normally do to add an application to your path).
iloveket

Post by iloveket »

AnyOldName3 wrote: 09 Jun 2018, 21:38 You should probably read the 'what you need' section of the guide, too. It mentions that you need to have both CMake and 7zip installed and on your path (and suggests a way of doing so for Chocolatey users, but if you don't use Chocolatey, you'd do exactly what you'd normally do to install software and exactly what you'd normally do to add an application to your path).
Okay, I've installed 7zip into the path, however I have an issue with Cmake where it's detecting an Uninstall.exe which is causing a conflict and prevents the installation. I've ensured that there's nothing else to do with Cmake in my directory apart from what was cloned to begin with.

The uninstall .exe is 7zip's.
AnyOldName3