Getting started / Rookie questions

Support for running, installing or compiling OpenMW

Before you submit a bug report for the first time, please read: Bug reporting guidelines
motaboy

Getting started / Rookie questions

Post by motaboy »

Hi,

I'm just getting started with OpenMW and here are my questions:
- At the first start it says "Tribunal.esm needs Morrowind.esm". So I need to manually change the lines in the "openMW.cfg" to the correct order. Shouldn't that be mentioned somewhere (not just in the bugs section)? I think 90% got the same problem (clean Morrowind installation in Steam) and it's a good way getting started with working with .cfg files.

- OpenMW starts now, but how do I make it look better? Many mention working with the "settings.cfg", but all it looks like in my case is:
Spoiler: Show
I tried adding lines for more distant land, but it didn't work. Maybe someone can upload a "settings.cfg" with tweaked graphics? My settings.cfg now looks like this:
Spoiler: Show
- Last question: Why does my water look worse then in the original morrowind? :D

THanks for your help, maybe we could create a "step-by-step instruction" out of this thread for noobs like me :)
Naugrim

Re: Getting started / Rookie questions

Post by Naugrim »

motaboy wrote: 14 Aug 2017, 10:17 Hi,

- At the first start it says "Tribunal.esm needs Morrowind.esm". So I need to manually change the lines in the "openMW.cfg" to the correct order. Shouldn't that be mentioned somewhere (not just in the bugs section)? I think 90% got the same problem (clean Morrowind installation in Steam) and it's a good way getting started with working with .cfg files.
No need to manually edit files, just reorder them in the launcher. Some people is actively working on improving the initial experience with the installer and launcher. So this improvements will come.