ESM File Error

Support for running, installing or compiling OpenMW

Before you submit a bug report for the first time, please read: Bug reporting guidelines
Post Reply
Pholux
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Jun 2016, 00:47

ESM File Error

Post by Pholux » 09 Jun 2016, 01:24

So upon launching openMW through the launcher and the startup video plays, I am greeted with a crash and a "ESM Error: File C:\ayylmao\steamapps\common\Morrowind\Data Files\Bloodmoon.esm asks for parent file Morrowind.esm, but has not been loaded yet. Please check your load order. File: C:\ayylmao\steamapps\common\Morrowind\Data Files\Bloodmoon.esm
Record: TES3
Subcord: DATA
Offset: 0x16a"

I'm pretty certain I followed the installation instructions correctly, but I may have done something wrong, hopefully this is an easy fix.

Cramal
Posts: 186
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 13:37

Re: ESM File Error

Post by Cramal » 09 Jun 2016, 01:55

It seems that Morrowind.esm is either :

- after Bloodmon.esm in your file list

- not in your file list

When you look at your config file, is "morrowind.esm" somewhere?

Pholux
Posts: 6
Joined: 09 Jun 2016, 00:47

Re: ESM File Error

Post by Pholux » 09 Jun 2016, 02:36

Cramal wrote:It seems that Morrowind.esm is either :

- after Bloodmon.esm in your file list

- not in your file list

When you look at your config file, is "morrowind.esm" somewhere?
The Openmw cfg? I see this when I open it

# This is the global openmw.cfg file. Do not modify!
# Modifications should be done on the user openmw.cfg file instead
# (see: https://wiki.openmw.org/index.php?title=Paths)

data="?mw?Data Files"
data=data
data-local="?userdata?data"
resources=resources
script-blacklist=Museum
script-blacklist=MockChangeScript
script-blacklist=doortestwarp

Edit: Oh wait I see, I've fixed it. Thanks for your help.

sg1efc
Posts: 72
Joined: 16 Nov 2012, 02:35

Re: ESM File Error

Post by sg1efc » 26 Dec 2016, 04:56

This worked for me also, Thank You! 8-)

Repcak
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 Jun 2018, 20:21

Re: ESM File Error

Post by Repcak » 27 Jun 2018, 20:24

I have the same problem, but instead of Bloodmoon.esm asking for Morrowind.esm, I have Tamriel_Data.esm asking for Tamriel_Data.esm. I don't know what to do with it. :|

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests