Framerates haven't changed since installing better gpu (ubuntu 14.04)

Support for running, installing or compiling OpenMW

Before you submit a bug report for the first time, please read: Bug reporting guidelines
User avatar
AnyOldName3
Posts: 1035
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 03:25

Re: Framerates haven't changed since installing better gpu (ubuntu 14.04)

Post by AnyOldName3 » 19 Aug 2018, 01:06

There seems to be a massive stall for no reason in the middle of that. Are you sure nothing weird's going on, such as you're running something else that's burning loads of CPU time or you've plugged your monitor into the motherboard instead of the new GPU?
AnyOldName3, Master of Shadows

User avatar
Capostrophic
Posts: 405
Joined: 22 Feb 2016, 20:32

Re: Framerates haven't changed since installing better gpu (ubuntu 14.04)

Post by Capostrophic » 19 Aug 2018, 01:14

There seems to be a massive stall for no reason in the middle of that.
That's both OSG updating the scene bounds and since F3 was pressed four times all the stuff (lots of it) in the scene being counted. OP should probably make another screenshot where View, Stateset etc. column isn't visible.
shitty lingua anglica grammar ftw

rileyball2
Posts: 6
Joined: 18 Aug 2018, 05:34
Github profile: https://github.com/rileyball

Re: Framerates haven't changed since installing better gpu (ubuntu 14.04)

Post by rileyball2 » 19 Aug 2018, 06:05

Capostrophic wrote:
19 Aug 2018, 01:14
There seems to be a massive stall for no reason in the middle of that.
That's both OSG updating the scene bounds and since F3 was pressed four times all the stuff (lots of it) in the scene being counted. OP should probably make another screenshot where View, Stateset etc. column isn't visible.
https://imgur.com/gallery/QBUgAkp
Sorry didn't realize that could actually change anything

User avatar
Capostrophic
Posts: 405
Joined: 22 Feb 2016, 20:32

Re: Framerates haven't changed since installing better gpu (ubuntu 14.04)

Post by Capostrophic » 19 Aug 2018, 08:42

FYI you don't need to publish pictures on imgur to make them public, unless imgur changed something in that recently.

You may have brought your game to a crawl with the mods. With this Balmora expansion and Vurt's trees the "visual" threads and physics taking too long is somewhat understandable (though a GTX 1060 should have handled this with ease), but there's also something really wrong with scripting, which usually should take a miniscule amount of frametime. You can still try to run openmw with the integrated video chip and take a screenshot of the profiler, right?
shitty lingua anglica grammar ftw

User avatar
akortunov
Posts: 356
Joined: 13 Mar 2017, 13:49
Location: Samara, Russian Federation
Github profile: https://github.com/akortunov

Re: Framerates haven't changed since installing better gpu (ubuntu 14.04)

Post by akortunov » 19 Aug 2018, 17:05

rileyball2 wrote:
18 Aug 2018, 22:31
Yeah sorry just took the picture wherever I was in the game at the time. This one is in balmora near Caius Cosade's house
Judging by screenshot, your game is heavy-modded. Basically, if you have a decent CPU, you have two issues:
1. A lot of bad-designed scripts.
2. A lot of bad-designed complex collision meshes.
So obviously videocard upgrade will not make situation better, even if you will use a Titan.
Try do disable your mods one-by-one and find yout which mod causes a slowdown.

User avatar
psi29a
Posts: 4078
Joined: 29 Sep 2011, 10:13
Github profile: https://github.com/psi29a/
Contact:

Re: Framerates haven't changed since installing better gpu (ubuntu 14.04)

Post by psi29a » 20 Aug 2018, 09:39

Would it be worth it to consider a 'mod' profiler? A way to manage and measure what kind of performance impact a mod has, how much resources it uses? That would be ideal for trying to improve existing mods and for creating new mods.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests