game mechanics code optimization

Everything about development and the OpenMW source code.
crassell

game mechanics code optimization

Post by crassell »

I'm a new developer and I know one of the main tenants of optimization is stay away from premature optimization, but I do notice some basic design patterns that are causing me to think even implementation code i'm adding is potentially slowing down mainline code. I hope what you find here is constructive criticism only.

For instance, I've been working on third person over the shoulder archery which requires me to stop head tracking updates for the player only when i'm in third person ranged aiming.

The code before I touched it:
for (PtrActorMap::iterator it(mActors.begin()); it != mActors.end(); ++it)
{
if (it->first == iter->first)
continue;
updateHeadTracking(iter->first, it->first, headTrackTarget, sqrHeadTrackDistance);
}
iter->second->getCharacterController()->setHeadTrackTarget(headTrackTarget);
The code after I touched it:
if (!((iter->first == player) && MWBase::Environment::get().getWorld()->getPlayer().getThirdPersonOverShoulderRanged()))
{
for (PtrActorMap::iterator it(mActors.begin()); it != mActors.end(); ++it)
{
if (it->first == iter->first)
continue;
updateHeadTracking(iter->first, it->first, headTrackTarget, sqrHeadTrackDistance);
}
}
iter->second->getCharacterController()->setHeadTrackTarget(headTrackTarget);
Essentially for every actor on screen, I will constantly check the third person ranged flag and if my current iteration of actors is the player. This one check may not cost much depending on the frequency of update of head tracking, actor count, etc., but I see if(ptr == player) checks sprinkled across both actors.cpp and character.cpp many of which are loops where under various conditions, the player is ignored or perhaps does something extra.