Newbie questions about building OpenMW on a Mac

Everything about development and the OpenMW source code.
Thunderforge

Newbie questions about building OpenMW on a Mac

Post by Thunderforge »

So I'm finally going to attempt to build OpenMW on a Mac. The thing is, I have never worked with C++ before (but plenty of Java and Python experience), and I'm having a hard time figuring out how to build it.

I started by looking at the macOS section of the Development Environment Setup page on our wiki. This was clear enough; I installed Xcode 8 from the App Store (and I think the command line tools got installed with it?). I then installed homebrew and used it to install cmake and pkg-config. Next I installed Qt, but chose to do it through the package on the Qt website.

All of that went well, but I was having trouble going from there. I launched Xcode and clicked "Check out an existing project". I pasted the Git URL into the text field, then was prompted with branches (I chose master). Then it prompted me to save it and I selected a location. After it finished downloading, the folder opened in the Finder. I clicked the "Finish" button in Xcode, but then I wasn't prompted with any screens. I tried going to File -> Open, but was told that" Xcode does not support opening folders without a project or workspace."

I'm kind of stuck at this point and am not sure what to do. Does anyone know what more I need to do to set up and build OpenMW in Xcode?
Last edited by Thunderforge on 08 Jul 2017, 00:49, edited 1 time in total.
Naugrim

Re: How do I set up and build the project with Xcode?

Post by Naugrim »

Thunderforge wrote: 29 Jun 2017, 00:41 So I'm finally going to attempt to build OpenMW on a Mac. The thing is, I have never worked with C++ before (but plenty of Java and Python experience), and I'm having a hard time figuring out how to build it.