Is an android port lf tes3mp possible?

For new and upcoming OpenMW branches and ports; move fast and break things!
Post Reply
Gibber
Posts: 1
Joined: 30 Oct 2018, 00:57

Is an android port lf tes3mp possible?

Post by Gibber » 30 Oct 2018, 01:11

I have some friends who I would like to get into tes3mp but they dont have pcs. I was just wondering if it was possible to convert tes3mp over to android. If so could i do it myself or would I need permission. I have a little bit of experience with modifying tes3mp.

davidcernat
Posts: 192
Joined: 19 Jul 2016, 01:02

Re: Is an android port lf tes3mp possible?

Post by davidcernat » 30 Oct 2018, 09:15

It's definitely possible, but it's not a priority at this time.

User avatar
psi29a
Posts: 4603
Joined: 29 Sep 2011, 10:13
Location: Belgium
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/
Contact:

Re: Is an android port lf tes3mp possible?

Post by psi29a » 30 Oct 2018, 09:27

I suspect that the server component would best be run on something with more memory and cpu while the client would run on android. However, I think this is more 'because we can' than it would actually be used. ;)

Yes, it is possible. Give it a try. Get in contact with xyzz and sandstranger since they have done the lion's share of the work in porting OpenMW to Android.

mojoswagger1980
Posts: 193
Joined: 04 May 2018, 05:16

Re: Is an android port lf tes3mp possible?

Post by mojoswagger1980 » 01 Nov 2018, 06:04

I think that needs Microsoftnetframework so no . Also its only available in 64bit for Windows at the moment .

User avatar
psi29a
Posts: 4603
Joined: 29 Sep 2011, 10:13
Location: Belgium
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/
Contact:

Re: Is an android port lf tes3mp possible?

Post by psi29a » 01 Nov 2018, 12:32

@mojoswagger1980 what are you talking about? What requires Microsoftnetframework precisely? Do you have any links for documentation that states that?

I'm reasonably sure that tes3mp does _not_ use Microsoftnetframework and even it did, why would that be a problem?

User avatar
AnyOldName3
Posts: 1453
Joined: 26 Nov 2015, 03:25

Re: Is an android port lf tes3mp possible?

Post by AnyOldName3 » 01 Nov 2018, 13:28

Even if it did use .NET, .NET is now supported on non-Microsoft systems, so it wouldn't be a problem.
AnyOldName3, Master of Shadows

User avatar
Thunderforge
Posts: 500
Joined: 06 Jun 2017, 05:57

Re: Is an android port lf tes3mp possible?

Post by Thunderforge » 01 Nov 2018, 22:08

AnyOldName3 wrote:
01 Nov 2018, 13:28
Even if it did use .NET, .NET is now supported on non-Microsoft systems, so it wouldn't be a problem.
To clarify for anybody who is unaware, .NET Framework is Windows-only. In contrast, .NET Core, which is the cross-platform successor that is something like 90% compatible with .NET Framework, is available on Linux and macOS (with source on on GitHub).

Of course, since TES3MP is written in C++, just like OpenMW, the whole line of discussion is moot ;)

davidcernat
Posts: 192
Joined: 19 Jul 2016, 01:02

Re: Is an android port lf tes3mp possible?

Post by davidcernat » 01 Nov 2018, 23:10

mojoswagger1980 wrote:
01 Nov 2018, 06:04
I think that needs Microsoftnetframework so no . Also its only available in 64bit for Windows at the moment .
You need the Microsoft Visual C++ Redistributable for Visual Studio 2017 if you're playing TES3MP on Windows.

Other than that, we've always had Linux releases... like you'd expect from a project that was started by a Linux user.

That means I'm not sure how you ended up with those misconceptions.

Post Reply