Best way of organising OpenMW load order using a mod manager.

Post about your mods, learn about OpenMW mod compatibility, check for problematic mods, discuss issues, and give us feedback about your experience with modded OpenMW.
Candiety

Best way of organising OpenMW load order using a mod manager.

Post by Candiety »

First off, I love OpenMW's way of handling morrowind mods using the openmw.cfg file, it makes things very efficient. FTR, I know to use the one located in documents and not program files. I modded morrowind when I first played it on 2003, so I have some experience. However, I am by no means adept with load orders, and when I first tried to use OpenMW (with mods) I encountered a few problems with getting mods to work, due entirely to load order. The problems were even apparent with mods as simple as the Dark Brother attack mod, and Passive Cliffracers!

I eventually solved the above problems using the only method I could think of/get to work. However, I have a feeling that it's not the easiest way of doing things, and is possible problematic. There is surely a better/easier/more reliable way of doing things.

FTR, I am on Windows 7 64bit/OpenMW 0.43.0 and whilst many people might find it easier to manually arrange, I quite simply do not have the more in-depth knowledge of how a mod effects a game to be able to do that myself (although I can to a certain degree). Ideally I need the help of load order software

Anyway, here is my method:
  1. I placed the mlox folder in c:\mlox, with all the necessary mlox files.
  2. I searched my OpenMW data folder (C:\Openmw DataFiles) for any .ESP/.ESM files that I was actively using, then copied them to c:\mlox
  3. I went to C:\Morrowind\Data Files and copied the morowind/bloodmoon/tribunal .ESM files to c:\mlox in the same fashion.
  4. I opened c:\mlox\mlox.exe. It recognised and loaded all of the installed plugins and then proposed a new load order.