OpenMW without time pause in menu

Not about OpenMW? Just about Morrowind in general? Have some random babble? Kindly direct it here.
Post Reply
thegriglat
Posts: 23
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 16:22

OpenMW without time pause in menu

Post by thegriglat » 06 Nov 2017, 23:03

Hi all,

Just for fun I have prepared a branch in my OpenMW fork on github which disables pause in menu (inventory and main menu at least).

After playing I think this change is for gamers who like hardcore as much as possible. :shock:

Now you cannot calmly drink potions or select appreciate spell -- you will not have a time for such things during fight (or maybe during rest)!
If you are interested -- merge https://github.com/thegriglat/openmw/tr ... top_in_gui into your OpenMW source, build and enjoy. :D

P.S.: please use it "AS IS". I don't tested compatibility with Morrowind scripts but only rendering and menu should be affected.

User avatar
Sslaxx
Posts: 203
Joined: 12 Aug 2011, 18:59
Location: Malvern, UK
Contact:

Re: OpenMW without time pause in menu

Post by Sslaxx » 07 Nov 2017, 00:14

Sounds like the perfect use for keyboard shortcuts...

Inventory not pausing sounds OK, but main menu?
Stuart "Sslaxx" Moore.

thegriglat
Posts: 23
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 16:22

Re: OpenMW without time pause in menu

Post by thegriglat » 07 Nov 2017, 09:13

Hi Sslaxx,

Unfortunately main menu is also "live".

Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JzO3p56McW4

User avatar
raevol
Posts: 2498
Joined: 07 Aug 2011, 01:12
Location: Caldera

Re: OpenMW without time pause in menu

Post by raevol » 07 Nov 2017, 09:20

That's... actually pretty cool...

User avatar
akortunov
Posts: 146
Joined: 13 Mar 2017, 13:49
Location: Samara, Russian Federation
Github profile: https://github.com/akortunov

Re: OpenMW without time pause in menu

Post by akortunov » 07 Nov 2017, 09:26

thegriglat wrote:
07 Nov 2017, 09:13
Unfortunately main menu is also "live".
Should be easy to fix:
1. Do not touch the "paused" variable in the engine.cpp.
2. Do not touch the renderingmanager.cpp.
3. Remove the "guiActive" variable an use the "paused" instead.

Note: it is unclear how the MenuMode console command should behave now.
Last edited by akortunov on 07 Nov 2017, 09:31, edited 1 time in total.

thegriglat
Posts: 23
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 16:22

Re: OpenMW without time pause in menu

Post by thegriglat » 07 Nov 2017, 09:30

akortunov wrote:
07 Nov 2017, 09:26
thegriglat wrote:
07 Nov 2017, 09:13
Unfortunately main menu is also "live".
Should be easy to fix:
1. Do not touch the "paused" variable in the engine.cpp.
2. Do not touch the renderingmanager.cpp.
3. Remove the "guiActive" variable an use the "paused" instead.
Thanks! I will try!

thegriglat
Posts: 23
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 16:22

Re: OpenMW without time pause in menu

Post by thegriglat » 07 Nov 2017, 11:34

Hi all,

Thanks a lot akortunov for help, the code has been fixed and now in main menu time is stopped (but all visual effect are "frozen" which is very beauty ;) ).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests