Python script for removing NITextureEffects from nif files

Questions specific to OpenMW-CS can be asked, and content development related topics can be discussed here
devnull

Python script for removing NITextureEffects from nif files

Post by devnull »

Hey all,

I'm new here, so I'm not really sure if this is the right place to post this.

After reading the guide on converting Apel's various things here,
I decided to try to make an automated script to do this. It uses python 3 and pyffi

I've uploaded it as a gist for now here.

Any feedback is welcome as I have no prior experience with editing these files, I merely tried to mirror what the guide said to do manually.
lysol

Re: Python script for removing NITextureEffects from nif files

Post by lysol »

Hi there and welcome to the forums!

I'm sure the thread fits this forum category.

Anyway, I'm at work right now, but I will try to have a look later today or later this week. If it works as it should, then you're my hero. Thanks for trying this out! :)
kuyondo

Post by kuyondo »

this is amazing. Many people will find this useful.
devnull

Post by devnull »

Excellent. Let me know if you have any questions about using it. I didn't exactly document it very well, and I only tested it on Linux, so I'm not 100% sure if Windows style paths would have any impact on it's functionality.

I'm also more than happy to take requests on any similar scripts / tools that might help with modding. I'm working on another tool right now to help better manage/ organize my data files directories.
jonimacarroni

Post by jonimacarroni »

First of all, thank you very much for the work.

Now, I've tried running the script in spyder, and after installing pyffi I get the following error:
runfile('C:/GOG Games/MW mods/Data folders/fix_nif.py', wdir='C:/GOG Games/MW mods/Data folders')
usage: fix_nif.py [-h] [--dryrun] [--regex REGEX] dir
fix_nif.py: error: the following arguments are required: dir