New modder

Questions specific to OpenMW-CS can be asked, and content development related topics can be discussed here
inatvand

New modder

Post by inatvand »

Dear OpenMW and Modding Community,
Super new to modding and I've yet to successfully implement one of my 3D Models, so forgive my ignorance. I edited the ridiculous Nordic Battleaxe mesh and now want to implement it. I see the game object, its stats, and its respective vanilla mesh in the object window in the CS, but how do I get my edited mesh to take its place without overwriting the old one. Maybe I'm going about this all wrong, I don't know... again, I'm super new to this and this is my first time even opening OpenMW-CS.
If someone with experience in the implementation department could just walk me through, step-by-step, how to get my edited .nif on the original object in game it would be highly appreciated.

Thanks, Inatvand
SatoriLotus

Re: New modder

Post by SatoriLotus »

Welcome!

I'm a little bit confused about what you want to do.

A. Make Morrowind's Nordic Battleaxe use your mesh rather than the vanilla one

or

B. Make a new in-game weapon using your mesh

I only ask because: "how do I get my edited mesh to take its place without overwriting the old one" doesn't make sense to me.

Because if it's "A" then you'd want to make your mod a pluginless replacer for a few different reasons.
If it's "B" you don't want your new weapon to take the place of the old one.

Or am I missing something?
inatvand

Post by inatvand »

I understand the confusion,
'A' is what I want to do. I want the original object in game to have my mesh instead. What I meant by "without overwriting the old one," was lose the original mesh(by just naming them the same and overwriting it in the data folder) but I now realize how stupid that is because I can just make copies and backups. Again, I apologize as this all very new for me.

Thank you so much, Inatvand