Page 2 of 2

Re: OpenMW-launcher just got an advanced settings menu

Posted: 15 Feb 2018, 16:06
by Candiety
lysol wrote:
15 Feb 2018, 14:43
No, not really except what you already mentioned. Go for it. :)
I tried it, but I saw that the graphics options have been removed so reverted back to play on the safe side. I'm about to mod everything, so no risks (ish). I can't wait to see the feature in full swing though.

-Link to most recent nightly build, for people with more balls than me-

Re: OpenMW-launcher just got an advanced settings menu

Posted: 15 Feb 2018, 16:49
by Capostrophic
I tried it, but I saw that the graphics options have been removed so reverted back to play on the safe side.
Nope, they weren't. You can still edit settings.cfg manually as always could and the launcher won't (can't) break them. And it can't reset values on settings it does manage either, unless you change the value yourself through it.

Re: OpenMW-launcher just got an advanced settings menu

Posted: 18 Feb 2018, 18:39
by Candiety
Capostrophic wrote:
15 Feb 2018, 16:49
I tried it, but I saw that the graphics options have been removed so reverted back to play on the safe side.
Nope, they weren't. You can still edit settings.cfg manually as always could and the launcher won't (can't) break them. And it can't reset values on settings it does manage either, unless you change the value yourself through it.
Sorry yes, I know what you can still edit with settings.cfg, I just meant to that the option to (indirectly) do so had at some point been removed from the new advanced settings menu.

Thanks though.

Re: OpenMW-launcher just got an advanced settings menu

Posted: 22 Feb 2018, 02:11
by xirsoi
I don't know if it's supposed to, but this topic doesn't show on the home page as a news item.

Re: OpenMW-launcher just got an advanced settings menu

Posted: 22 Feb 2018, 04:00
by Thunderforge
xirsoi wrote:
22 Feb 2018, 02:11
I don't know if it's supposed to, but this topic doesn't show on the home page as a news item.
Looks to me that it does on the English page, but not the Polish or Russian one.

Re: OpenMW-launcher just got an advanced settings menu

Posted: 01 Mar 2018, 22:55
by DecumusScotti
How can I get that menu in Ubuntu? I built from source, after cloning from https://github.com/OpenMW/openmw.

Re: OpenMW-launcher just got an advanced settings menu

Posted: 02 Mar 2018, 01:13
by Thunderforge
DecumusScotti wrote:
01 Mar 2018, 22:55
How can I get that menu in Ubuntu? I built from source, after cloning from https://github.com/OpenMW/openmw.
I can’t think of any reason it wouldn’t show up in Ubuntu. Double check to make sure you have the latest source and if you do, open a new thread in the support section with any log messages you get when you build.

Re: OpenMW-launcher just got an advanced settings menu

Posted: 02 Mar 2018, 07:52
by psi29a
Make sure you are not running the old system openmw binaries (that the deb packages are installed)?

Re: OpenMW-launcher just got an advanced settings menu

Posted: 02 Mar 2018, 17:35
by DecumusScotti
Right. I think I was still using the release version. After removing it via package manager and building again, it works now. Wow, that was rather stupid. Well, a lifetime of Windows still has its effect on me...

Re: OpenMW-launcher just got an advanced settings menu

Posted: 03 Mar 2018, 01:08
by AnyOldName3
"./openmw" runs the version in the current folder. "openmw" runs the installed version. This has shot me in the foot when trying to test changes under Linux, too.