OpenSceneGraph port now playable

Feel free to discuss here about news on our blog
Post Reply
User avatar
scrawl
Posts: 2047
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 11:51
Contact:

Re: OpenSceneGraph port now playable

Post by scrawl » 08 Jun 2015, 19:33

@jirka642: You need s3tc texture compression support. Proprietary GFX drivers usually provide it by default. On open source drivers, you may need to separately install with

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install libtxc-dxtn-s2tc0
though it worked fine without that package on my laptop running Mesa... not sure if there's any pattern to that.

User avatar
jirka642
Posts: 111
Joined: 23 Aug 2014, 11:39
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: OpenSceneGraph port now playable

Post by jirka642 » 08 Jun 2015, 19:38

psi29a wrote:Proprietary drivers or open-source ones?
open source

EDIT:
@scrawl: thanks it works now
On GitHub as kunesj, on GitLab as kunesj.
OS: Linux Mint 18, CPU: Intel Core i5-3330, RAM: 16GB, GPU: GeForce GTX 650Ti, OpenMW: from source

User avatar
Lazaroth
Posts: 220
Joined: 30 May 2012, 05:04

Re: OpenSceneGraph port now playable

Post by Lazaroth » 08 Jun 2015, 19:44

I've managed to recreate my previously mentioned number 3 issue somewhat now, but I don't know what triggers it. If I just start a new game and jump around, resizing and moving inventory windows for a while it happens. I think it's the exact same issue as 4 though, as I managed to get a better glimpse and it looked similar. I've tried to record it with fraps, but it doesn't show anything in the recorded footage.

mychaelo
Posts: 9
Joined: 08 Aug 2014, 10:55

Re: OpenSceneGraph port now playable

Post by mychaelo » 08 Jun 2015, 20:11

So I decided to test out this OSG branch, and by 'test out' I mean load my usual config of ~50 mod ESPs and a lot more model/texture replacer files. So far I've been unsuccessful. Here's what I tried:

Launch the game normally, (even with all ESPs unticked), 'New game' option is available, produces this:
Image
With no loading screen before it, and returns into main menu after clicking anywhere.
Logs had this to say about it: Error in framelistener: addAnimSource: can't find bone bip01 tail4 (probably one of the body replacers has an improper model of some sort?)

Load into savegame directly (launched from cmd via openmw --load-savegame "k:\work\Important stuff\OpenMW OSG 0.36.0\autosave.ess"). Now I get this:
Image
A bit better, now I can use the Journal, that tells me about no entries in it, and game crashes as soon as I try to access the inventory. COE triggers loading screens, but assets are not displayed (other than the water plane and the cloud layer).
Logs didn't have anything about bones, but instead a dozen of these strings: Warning: unhandled texture stage 5

Windows 10 x64 using Ace's binaries.

User avatar
sjek
Posts: 407
Joined: 22 Nov 2014, 10:51

Re: OpenSceneGraph port now playable

Post by sjek » 08 Jun 2015, 20:59

also if testing this on windows backup your openmw.cfg
line scructure is lost when starting launcher.

@ace
windows xp 32 bit when opening openmw.exe says
"the procedure entry point GetTickCount64 could not be located in the dynamic link library kernel 32.dll"
"life is crazy"
"craziness has beauty which only crazies understand" some movie clip in the head.
https://wiki.openmw.org/index.php?title=Testing

HiPhish
Posts: 323
Joined: 02 Jul 2012, 08:36

Re: OpenSceneGraph port now playable

Post by HiPhish » 08 Jun 2015, 21:17

Can someone please compile it for OS X so I can test as well?

User avatar
lysol
Posts: 674
Joined: 26 Mar 2013, 01:48
Location: Sweden

Re: OpenSceneGraph port now playable

Post by lysol » 08 Jun 2015, 21:40

Gave it a spin just now. I thought OpenMW ran quite well with Ogre on my PC. I don't think that anymore. It runs soooo smooth now! :D
Normal mapped texture replacers, exclusive for OpenMW:
My Nexus page

User avatar
sandstranger
Posts: 434
Joined: 19 May 2014, 19:53
Location: Oblivion

Re: OpenSceneGraph port now playable

Post by sandstranger » 08 Jun 2015, 21:42

I successfully build openmw with osg for android. It not work yet because there is no shaders

User avatar
cc9cii
Posts: 434
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 04:01

Re: OpenSceneGraph port now playable

Post by cc9cii » 08 Jun 2015, 21:49

Crash starting a new game, using Ace's x64 build, Windows 8.1. One of the console messages, not sure if relevant:

Warning: detected OpenGL error 'invalid enumerant' at Before Renderer::compile

Can't find any other log files?

Loading one of the saved game works, but starting a new game from there leads to a crash again.

EDIT: disabling the high res intro video stops the crash
Last edited by cc9cii on 08 Jun 2015, 21:59, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Ace (SWE)
Posts: 720
Joined: 15 Aug 2011, 14:56

Re: OpenSceneGraph port now playable

Post by Ace (SWE) » 08 Jun 2015, 21:50

sjek wrote:windows xp 32 bit when opening openmw.exe says
"the procedure entry point GetTickCount64 could not be located in the dynamic link library kernel 32.dll"
Hm, I don't think OpenMW calls GetTickCount64 anywhere, so this is probably something OSG does.
I've built the entire chain of dependencies with the v120_xp toolset, but it's still compiled on Windows 7 so I guess it's picked a codepath that doesn't work on XP...

It should be solvable by defining the Windows XP NTLevel when compiling OSG, but that might lead to compatibility issues with the other dependencies. And it might not work well on newer OSes either, I know there's lots of issues with XP programs come Windows 8.

I guess if worse comes to worse I might put up an XP VM and compile OpenMW on there as well, for the people still using that old OS.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests