Page 1 of 4

MCP-like menu

Posted: 07 Aug 2017, 06:56
by Biboran
Hi guys! In game you added some MCP fixes, but to activete them you need use console. Is there way add menu in launcher, where you can on and off this options without using console?

Re: MCP-like menu

Posted: 07 Aug 2017, 18:15
by Thunderforge
Which fixes in particular are you wanting to see in the launcher?

Re: MCP-like menu

Posted: 09 Aug 2017, 16:29
by Biboran
All that opotional and activated trouth console, if it possible. Like fix for traders not wearing what they sell and some more.
It is hadd to find that you may activate them - this information only on wiki, and simple menu will be much more usable.
Thanx.

Re: MCP-like menu

Posted: 09 Aug 2017, 16:40
by akortunov
I think we can add a tab to launcher for settings file configuring, similar to MCP configurator.

Re: MCP-like menu

Posted: 10 Aug 2017, 15:21
by Berandas
Personally I would love to see this too, so the overview with checkboxes in the launcher sounds like a good way to go. ;)

Re: MCP-like menu

Posted: 10 Aug 2017, 18:09
by ap0
Why in the launcher and not in game menu?

Re: MCP-like menu

Posted: 10 Aug 2017, 18:35
by Jemolk
ap0 wrote:
10 Aug 2017, 18:09
Why in the launcher and not in game menu?
Why the launcher? Because it can be implemented sooner and more easily, I should say. Getting it in the in-game menu should probably be the long-term goal, but for now, I'd rather see it implemented sooner rather than later. Dunno about anyone else, but making it easy to work with now seems a higher priority than making it a breeze to work with in half a year.

Re: MCP-like menu

Posted: 10 Aug 2017, 20:19
by akortunov
ap0 wrote:
10 Aug 2017, 18:09
Why in the launcher and not in game menu?
Some settings change could require a game restart anyway.
Also we have no way to localize new strings (post-1.0 feature), so we can not implement in-game menu until 1.0. A launcher does not have this restriction.

Re: MCP-like menu

Posted: 14 Aug 2017, 17:04
by Lenny
I'm intrigued - what are the console commands for these fixes?

Re: MCP-like menu

Posted: 29 Aug 2017, 03:43
by Thunderforge
Here are some mockups I made for a potential MCP-like menu:
Settings.png
Graphics.png
I think that "Settings" is the best name for this section, so I decided to move the current grouping to "Installation". Also, some settings are better suited for the "Graphics" tab, so I moved it there.

I think that it is best to only have the settings here that cannot be controlled in game.

One thing I was wondering: should we rename this section "Experimental"? That would make it clear that these are settings that are not fully supported or available in-game.