Smoother cell transitions

Feedback on past, current, and future development.
SkoomaPro

Smoother cell transitions

Post by SkoomaPro »

Is there anything that can be done about how moving from one exterior cell to another is handled? Normally, I would be able to deal with it, though I've found that if i move into the apparent origin of where four cells meet, I get treated to quite a few loading screens as a result of rapidly switching back and forth between cells. Is it possible for multiple cells to be loaded at once? I'm no coder, so I wouldn't know, myself.

That being said, I want to express how amazed and thankful I am to everyone working on OpenMW. It's awesome to see people working to bring my favorite game back to life even after all these years after its release.
Chris

Re: Smoother cell transitions

Post by Chris »

SkoomaPro wrote:Is there anything that can be done about how moving from one exterior cell to another is handled?
Better (pre-)caching, mostly. Rather than just load what we need when we need it, start loading bits of things for what's nearby as you get closer, so when the actual transition occurs there's very little more that needs to be done other than to just connect it to the root scene node and start processing AI/scripts (similarly, cells that get unloaded can just be disconnected from the root scene node, and making AI/script processing stop, then the actual resources are freed when you get further away and the memory is needed).
Gramblosh

Post by Gramblosh »