Version/Build number in Launcher window

Feedback on past, current, and future development.
User avatar
Greendogo
Posts: 1432
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 02:04

Re: Version/Build number in Launcher window

Post by Greendogo » 24 Jan 2014, 02:22

It looks good except that "... unstable, revision ..." seems a little busy.

On second thought, your previous implementation was much cleaner:
pvdk wrote:
Spoiler: Show
It might look even cleaner if you wrote the revision in parenthesis instead of writing "revision", like this:
OpenMW 0.28.0 (fa186f5ec1)

What do others think?

User avatar
nnayo
Posts: 72
Joined: 25 Feb 2013, 15:05
Location: Cannes, France

Re: Version/Build number in Launcher window

Post by nnayo » 24 Jan 2014, 07:45

parenthesis seems a nice idea

User avatar
pvdk
Posts: 523
Joined: 12 Aug 2011, 16:34

Re: Version/Build number in Launcher window

Post by pvdk » 24 Jan 2014, 13:13

What about:

Code: Select all

OpenMW unstable (fa186f5ec1)

User avatar
Zini
Posts: 5537
Joined: 06 Aug 2011, 15:16

Re: Version/Build number in Launcher window

Post by Zini » 24 Jan 2014, 14:12

Actually, I don't like the word unstable. It indicates that the build is ... well unstable, which is not necessarily the case. Can we either find a better description or just leave it out with the lack of a release number indicating that it is not a proper release, e.g.: OpenMW (fa186f5ec1) ?

As for automatically detecting the difference between a release build and a non-release build: We could add a cmake variable for that:

set (OPENMW_RELEASE_BUILD 0)

I would then set the value to 1 immediately before release tagging and set the value back to 0 after the release.

An alternative would be a cmake option.

option (BUILD_RELEASE "this is a release build" OFF)

But then all package manager would have to remember adjust their CMakeCache files before and after releases (or use a different cache file for releases).

User avatar
psi29a
Posts: 4805
Joined: 29 Sep 2011, 10:13
Location: Belgium
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/
Contact:

Re: Version/Build number in Launcher window

Post by psi29a » 24 Jan 2014, 15:04

Why do that? Use the power of cmake...

if CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE == Release ...

by default, CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE is set to Debug unless you specify Release in your cmake flags.

User avatar
scrawl
Posts: 2152
Joined: 18 Feb 2012, 11:51

Re: Version/Build number in Launcher window

Post by scrawl » 24 Jan 2014, 15:08

pvdk already found a better solution. Just checking if the current revision is a release tag. No manual intervention required ;)

User avatar
Lazaroth
Posts: 220
Joined: 30 May 2012, 05:04

Re: Version/Build number in Launcher window

Post by Lazaroth » 24 Jan 2014, 15:23

Would it be completely wrong calling it a 0.29 alpha, thereby avoiding the "unstable" label while still making it clear what it is?

User avatar
psi29a
Posts: 4805
Joined: 29 Sep 2011, 10:13
Location: Belgium
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/
Contact:

Re: Version/Build number in Launcher window

Post by psi29a » 24 Jan 2014, 15:26

Release and Debug/Development... it should be obvious what each means.

User avatar
pvdk
Posts: 523
Joined: 12 Aug 2011, 16:34

Re: Version/Build number in Launcher window

Post by pvdk » 02 Feb 2014, 20:14

What about:
Spoiler: Show
The code works on Mac OS X now, and it should work on Windows too. I'll send a pull request if the text as seen in the screenshot is okay.

User avatar
Zini
Posts: 5537
Joined: 06 Aug 2011, 15:16

Re: Version/Build number in Launcher window

Post by Zini » 02 Feb 2014, 22:09

Looks okay to me.

Post Reply