EDITOR: Region generation

Feedback on past, current, and future development.
Ruarl
Posts: 11
Joined: 04 Jun 2012, 08:32

EDITOR: Region generation

Post by Ruarl » 21 Oct 2012, 06:06

For post 1.0 I think we should probably look at implementing region generation so modding on TES3 becomes faster. Not a high priority, but something we must look into.

Edit: Placing each individual tree and rock by hand takes a whole lot of time and is sometimes unnecessary.

User avatar
Osidian
Posts: 15
Joined: 30 Apr 2012, 18:00

Re: EDITOR: Region generation

Post by Osidian » 21 Oct 2012, 11:23

Ruarl wrote:For post 1.0 I think we should probably look at implementing region generation so modding on TES3 becomes faster. Not a high priority, but something we must look into.

Edit: Placing each individual tree and rock by hand takes a whole lot of time and is sometimes unnecessary.
I think this kind of feature might be useful, but I have to disagree with hand placing stuff being unnecessary. Everything being hand placed, instead of computer generated, is part of what makes Morrowind environments so good. Hand placed by a good modder is always better than the stuff a computer can come up with.

Tarius
Posts: 574
Joined: 24 Oct 2011, 19:29

Re: EDITOR: Region generation

Post by Tarius » 22 Oct 2012, 23:55

Osidian wrote:
Ruarl wrote:For post 1.0 I think we should probably look at implementing region generation so modding on TES3 becomes faster. Not a high priority, but something we must look into.

Edit: Placing each individual tree and rock by hand takes a whole lot of time and is sometimes unnecessary.
I think this kind of feature might be useful, but I have to disagree with hand placing stuff being unnecessary. Everything being hand placed, instead of computer generated, is part of what makes Morrowind environments so good. Hand placed by a good modder is always better than the stuff a computer can come up with.
I am also in favor of generating stuff by computer as a way to quickly fill in stuff. There is nothing wrong with going through by hand later on if you really want to.
I am a bigger fan of tons of control rather than taking the "user-friendly" approach.
-Okulo

User avatar
Greendogo
Posts: 1383
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 02:04

Re: EDITOR: Region generation

Post by Greendogo » 23 Oct 2012, 00:37

This has been discussed before.

Ruarl
Posts: 11
Joined: 04 Jun 2012, 08:32

Re: EDITOR: Region generation

Post by Ruarl » 23 Oct 2012, 17:03

After deeper investigation, I found the topic that you created that covers this. (Integrated Grass layout tool) :oops:
Well, if the team is already aware of this request then I'm happy.

One a somewhat similar topic of trees, I would like to add another suggestion:

After I played a bit on the new released map of Tamriel Rebuild I ran into problems with the vanilla map. If a modder adds a lot of trees to an area to simulate a forest, the leaves of the trees covers the whole map. This makes it unnecessary hard to navigate, which is the primary function of a map.

I wonder if it is in any way possible to make the leaves of trees transparent on the map, so you can see the floor?

Tarius
Posts: 574
Joined: 24 Oct 2011, 19:29

Re: EDITOR: Region generation

Post by Tarius » 24 Oct 2012, 00:11

Ruarl wrote:After deeper investigation, I found the topic that you created that covers this. (Integrated Grass layout tool) :oops:
Well, if the team is already aware of this request then I'm happy.

One a somewhat similar topic of trees, I would like to add another suggestion:

After I played a bit on the new released map of Tamriel Rebuild I ran into problems with the vanilla map. If a modder adds a lot of trees to an area to simulate a forest, the leaves of the trees covers the whole map. This makes it unnecessary hard to navigate, which is the primary function of a map.

I wonder if it is in any way possible to make the leaves of trees transparent on the map, so you can see the floor?
Possibly if you can have the map ignore alpha textures when its being generated.
I am a bigger fan of tons of control rather than taking the "user-friendly" approach.
-Okulo

User avatar
Greendogo
Posts: 1383
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 02:04

Re: EDITOR: Region generation

Post by Greendogo » 25 Oct 2012, 07:14

Nice idea Tarius, that would solve that problem. Maybe put a toggle button on the map that says "Hide leaves" or "Hide Alpha Textures" (too out-of-game, I'd think, for the map).

ezzetabi
Posts: 407
Joined: 03 Feb 2012, 16:52

Re: EDITOR: Region generation

Post by ezzetabi » 26 Oct 2012, 11:59

Osidian wrote:
Ruarl wrote:Hand placed by a good modder is always better than the stuff a computer can come up with.
... might be true... but far too many modders are more egomaniacs than good in placing assets. Beside the computer can give a place to start.

User avatar
Tes96
Posts: 215
Joined: 29 Feb 2012, 03:45
Location: Morrowind

Re: EDITOR: Region generation

Post by Tes96 » 06 Dec 2012, 21:50

Ruarl wrote:After deeper investigation, I found the topic that you created that covers this. (Integrated Grass layout tool) :oops:
Well, if the team is already aware of this request then I'm happy.

One a somewhat similar topic of trees, I would like to add another suggestion:

After I played a bit on the new released map of Tamriel Rebuild I ran into problems with the vanilla map. If a modder adds a lot of trees to an area to simulate a forest, the leaves of the trees covers the whole map. This makes it unnecessary hard to navigate, which is the primary function of a map.

I wonder if it is in any way possible to make the leaves of trees transparent on the map, so you can see the floor?
In regards to the map but irrelevant to the original post, I would like the ability to toggle off or disable the minimap in the bottom-right corner and the world map. This is more modder based than code based I assume. I think it would be great to not be able to view the world map until you buy an actual world map from a vendor. Kinda like the Guides scrolls you buy. I love getting lost and not knowing whether I'm heading North or South just makes it that much more adventurous. I know you can console TM and turn everything off but then your inventory is invisible, too!
Project-Tamriel

"If one is to understand the arcane arts, one must study all its aspects, not just the dogmatic narrow view of the Mages Guild."

User avatar
Br0ken
Posts: 241
Joined: 02 Apr 2012, 05:54
Location: Siberia

Re: EDITOR: Region generation

Post by Br0ken » 05 Jan 2013, 15:36

Generated realistic environment in Mount & Blade: Warband mod - Polished Landscapes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVoDXFmeros

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Egblsus7R1A

Post Reply