Landmass

Moderator: Example suite forum moderator

Locked
User avatar
ElderTroll
Posts: 494
Joined: 25 Jan 2012, 07:01

Landmass

Post by ElderTroll » 20 Aug 2012, 02:44

Do we have someone with the skills to make the landmass and heightmaps? I have seen on the Morrowind modders resource several landmasses that are placed inside the Morrowind map. One is a large island. Would it be possible to take just the user created landmass out? That would save a lot of time. We would have to go through and delete any art assets that are Bethesda owned out and replace them. What would be a more efficient method; work from the ground, or find an existing landmass and alter it for our needs?
“A society grows great when old men plant trees whose shade they know they shall never sit in.”

User avatar
Greendogo
Posts: 1327
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 02:04

Re: Landmass

Post by Greendogo » 20 Aug 2012, 03:12

The result would probably be better if we find someone who can do the heightmaps and the layout themselves.

I looked through the mod resources and nothing there really seemed to be appropriate for our needs. A lot of them already had MW specific models placed on them as well.

User avatar
Greendogo
Posts: 1327
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 02:04

Re: Landmass

Post by Greendogo » 20 Aug 2012, 05:17

Wollibeebee indicated that Worsas has done heightmaps in the past. Worsas? Are you interested in heightmap work?

User avatar
hircine
Posts: 156
Joined: 06 Aug 2011, 07:18

Re: Landmass

Post by hircine » 20 Aug 2012, 08:58

I have starting working on a heightmap, made from Greendogos island sketch.

Just looking for my MW install disc, as I can't get the CS anywhere online. :|
Steam doesn't ship it D:

will spend a little while on it tonight and see how I go. :)

User avatar
Amenophis
Posts: 235
Joined: 30 Oct 2011, 04:34
Location: Fortaleza - Ceará - Brasil

Re: Landmass

Post by Amenophis » 20 Aug 2012, 10:57

TESCS fixed for Morrowind Steam GOTY edition v1601820
http://morrowind.nexusmods.com/mods/42196
My fixes and tweaks on vanilla and modded quests for Morrowind.
http://www.nexusmods.com/morrowind/mods/43107/?

User avatar
Greendogo
Posts: 1327
Joined: 26 Aug 2011, 02:04

Re: Landmass

Post by Greendogo » 20 Aug 2012, 12:42

hircine wrote:will spend a little while on it tonight and see how I go. :)
Awesome, I can't wait to see what you come up with.

Out of curiosity, have you ever made a heightmap before?

User avatar
hircine
Posts: 156
Joined: 06 Aug 2011, 07:18

Re: Landmass

Post by hircine » 20 Aug 2012, 12:44

With Oblivion I have, Morrowind no. But I have a heightmap already working.
trying to setup a 'player' currently to view everything. But I don't know how and there needs to be a startup script or something. :/

Since I want to make a clean version, no MW data, there are a few things missing before I can view whats there. It locks up at inilization since there is no player and it doesn't know what to do!

User avatar
Zini
Posts: 5181
Joined: 06 Aug 2011, 15:16

Re: Landmass

Post by Zini » 20 Aug 2012, 12:49

You need to create an NPC ID with the ID "player". Are you trying to run it under OpenMW? Then there might be some useful info at the standard output that could give you some hints what is missing. Post the logs here, if you need help with deciphering them.

Technically, you do not need a startup script. You should however make sure to run OpenMW with the --start switch to specify a cell that actually exists.

User avatar
hircine
Posts: 156
Joined: 06 Aug 2011, 07:18

Re: Landmass

Post by hircine » 20 Aug 2012, 12:55

Actually I was using Vanilla, within the time of my last post I have worked out what I need to do with having just a plain ESP by itself. (not loading MW.esm)

player npc
script called 'Main '
;move the player to particular cell in this script. I will DL the latest OpenMW and see how it behaves. :)

User avatar
Zini
Posts: 5181
Joined: 06 Aug 2011, 15:16

Re: Landmass

Post by Zini » 20 Aug 2012, 13:01

Simply having a script called Main won't work. At least it won't with OpenMW. The script must be listed as a startup script.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest