Addin database

Join the team. This area is for people who want to participate in OpenMW's development in one way or another.
Jwcolby54

Addin database

Post by Jwcolby54 »

I have been a database developer, SQL Server (that you would care about) and C# programmer. I am wondering whether an actual database has been developed for storing objects. It looks like stuff is stored in text files. I have read (over, not memorized) the format for the TES3Mod file formats found here https://en.uesp.net/wiki/Tes3Mod:File_Format.

Coming from databases, it occurs to me that if objects were imported into an actual database, then using SQL, comparisons could be done between objects to find and flag collisions between objects. I am just starting to think about this but things like physical position in the "real" world could be analyzed to see where addins might overlap, find objects which collide with walls or are half buried in the ground. Long ago I remember adding in addins only to discover that rooms in caves defined in one addin collided with rooms in other addins.

I don't know the capabilities of the construction set but it feels like it would make a poor tool for this purpose if it did so at all.

Do tables (definitions) exist for the various objects in such files? Does code exist to parse an object file and get the pieces into tables in something like PostgreSQL or MySQL. Lacking that, does code exist that parses such files and passes back the pieces as data objects that I could then write code to place into tables?

It seems like with the hundreds (thousands?) of addins available, it would be pretty useful to place them all in a directory, then import all of them into a database, then use a database engine to analyze each one against every other one. Even against the various buildings, crypts, caves etc in the Morrowind world.