My application as OpenMW developer

Join the team. This area is for people who want to participate in OpenMW's development in one way or another.
scrawl

My application as OpenMW developer

Post by scrawl »

Hi!

I've been playing Morrowind since it came out and always went back to it and I think it can be considered one of the most epic games ever created. I want to support your efforts in recreating the engine of this timeless classic (and hopefully, also allow total conversions)

I've been working specifically with Ogre and C++ for one and a half years now. I'm also an active developer of this open source game using Ogre:
http://code.google.com/p/vdrift-ogre/

I'm especially interested in these areas:
- Setting up shadows
- Setting up a shader infrastructure (allowing for effects like normal mapping, parallax mapping, ...)
- Support screen-space effects (ambient occlusion, HDR, ...) - ideally there should be a framework that allows modders to add their own shaders and effects

My development environment runs arch linux and I'm familiar with git.

Let me know if you are interested.
Zini

Re: My application as OpenMW developer

Post by Zini »

We are definitely interested, though the areas you listed are a bit problematic at this time. The plan is to not add any features prior to 1.0, so we can completely focus on the reimplementation for MW.
- Setting up shadows
MW doesn't have much in term of dynamic shadows. We definitely want them to post 1.0 though.
- Setting up a shader infrastructure (allowing for effects like normal mapping, parallax mapping, ...)
I would expect that most of it can actually be done by using a suitable material script. Eventually we need to adjust the resources handling that we can also use native OGRE resources instead of just NIF files. But that is also a post-1.0 feature.
- Support screen-space effects (ambient occlusion, HDR, ...) - ideally there should be a framework that allows modders to add their own shaders and effects