Application: crassell

Join the team. This area is for people who want to participate in OpenMW's development in one way or another.
crassell

Application: crassell

Post by crassell »

Hi,

I'm a firmware developer for Intel so my expertise is mostly in hardware design but I have quite a bit of experience with large code bases (maintaining a c++ architectural simulator, designing verilog integration with the c++ architectural simulator, scripting for build automation and code generation, inline assembly optimization, etc.). I am a complete newb when dealing with computer graphics / game design, but I learn fairly quickly and reverse engineering code is my full time job (nobody seems to believe in good code documentation / comments :D ).

I'm mainly interested in getting involved with some potential post 1.0 features but can pick up other issues to resolve as needed.

Some things I would like to do:
1. Add animation support through the OSG format as an alternative to NIF.
2. Add the ability to extend general animation mechanics, combat mechanics, etc. to behave different than vanilla while maintaining compatibility with vanilla behavior (seems like a refactor of character and npc state behavior would be needed for this).

Other things I would like to work on are just the general render pipeline but some of these things may take months to learn and I will have to start small.

I have cloned the master of the git repo for openmw and have built and ran both debug and release on Visual Studio 2017. My full time job is working in linux as well so I wouldn't mind developing on either platform.

Thanks,
crassell (I go by Chris)
kuyondo

Re: Application: crassell

Post by kuyondo »

yours skills are invaluable in the openmw community.
psi29a
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/

Post by psi29a »

Hello Chris and welcome aboard!
crassell wrote: 28 Aug 2017, 01:53 1. Add animation support through the OSG format as an alternative to NIF.