A first attempt on creating release videos

Join the team. This area is for people who want to participate in OpenMW's development in one way or another.
Atahualpa

A first attempt on creating release videos

Post by Atahualpa »

Hello everyone,

I'm a 25-year-old student of Electrical Engineering from Germany. Being an admirer of this project and a long-time lurker on these forums, I finally decided to sign up and, hopefully, contribute to your hard work.

While I have some basic experience in coding, I doubt my skills would be of any use in this stage of the project.
But what about your release videos? WeirdSexy has taken a break from video editing, and the community drools over new updates. I consider myself quite a talented writer - in German - so I picked up my rusty school English and started to write a (plain text) script covering versions 0.37.0 and 0.38.0.

After digging through the list of solved issues (224 and 72 respectively - are you serious?!), I found myself writing page after page, creating what I would, literally, call a script. So far, the OpenMW part has been covered. The OpenMW-CS part contains an introduction pointing out the need for manpower to catch up with OpenMW's development, but otherwise remains unwritten. I also wrote a general introduction, mentioning the iterative version numbering and the switch to OSG; a passage referencing related projects (mainly the Game Template project and the Example Suite); a call for donations to Scrawl's Patreon and (ACE's) server support; and some closing remarks.

It is up to you to evaluate
1. if this goes beyond the scope of a single video.
2. if the details given are correct.
3. if there should be additional issues mentioned.
(I included line numbers and referenced each issue I dealt with.)

In addition, I installed some basic audio and video recording software on my computer; a microphone is also at hand. Today I made some recording tests which turned out relatively satisfying.