Another Helper

Join the team. This area is for people who want to participate in OpenMW's development in one way or another.
CheeseBurg

Another Helper

Post by CheeseBurg »

I have been following this project for years (since the switch from D) and everyday I told myself I would help in anyway I could. Unfortunately I am a bit of a slacker so it has taken a few more years than I hoped. I have been out of college for half a year now and I work as a Java/front-end developer so I have coding experience (not really good at it) but I would rather help out with testing and anything else you throw at me. Here are some of the machines I have:

Main Machine
-> Ubuntu 13.04 64bit / Windows 7 64bit
-> Intel Core i7-2600
-> GeForce GTX 570
-> 16 GB RAM

Second Machine
-> Ubuntu 13.10 Dev 64bit (soon to be Fedora 19 64bit)
-> AMD Athlon II X2 250
-> AMD R5880
-> 5 GB RAM

Third Machine
-> Lubuntu 13.04 32bit
-> Intel Pentium 4
-> GeForce 6200
-> 1 GB RAM

I can do Wiki work too. Once I am here for a while, I will go for some coding jobs and try to help out with the editor a bit since I want to learn Qt. As for testing, I have no experience but I want to learn since it is a skill every developer needs. I am an Ubuntu fanboy(ish) but I like installing other distros as well so if you want me to test on others let me know. Also I have copies of both Windows XP and Windows 8 so I can test them. I am really excited to help out this project!
Lano

Re: Another Helper

Post by Lano »

As far as the wiki is up to date, they need testers (bug reports) and researchers along coders of course.

I am not sure if there is an official ToDo I have overlooked somehow?

Also publicity helps, if you can get some coverage. More people learn about the project, more will be able to offer help. I guess the main problem with open source projects is to lead new members on track with the "Things to To".