Willing and able.

Join the team. This area is for people who want to participate in OpenMW's development in one way or another.
Kyn

Willing and able.

Post by Kyn »

Hey there, I just found out that this project existed last night and I am already sold to give my undying support. I have played Morrowind ever since it first came out and now I still enjoy enhancing my experience with mods, but when dabbling with making my own mods I hit a bit of a brick wall; the limiting construction set. Creating new areas or quests doesn't interest me nearly as much as reworking how attributes and skills work, or adding new spell effects. It seems everything I want to do to the game requires a messy script, even though it should be as simple as a value change, (sometimes).

Currently I have no programming experience, I only really understand the ABSOLUTE basics of code. I understand how it works to a degree, but I have no idea how to make a code do what I want it to do. Soon I will be taking programming courses in college, but probably not soon enough to be of much help in that department (I will stay in touch anyway for whatever I can do).

The main thing I am interested in doing is working with the research team. I admit my guilty pleasure is making formulas for sets of inputs and outputs (I make formulas in excel all the time for random things like scaling on damage or any other set of numbers that has a logical increase, don't judge me :D ). If you want to know how something works I will gladly boot up Morrowind and test it at every possible value of every stat and give you the answer in a nice simple equation. I am also willing to do anything else that could help OpenMW reach its ultimate goal, just tell me what jobs require doing, and I will give you a gauge on how well I think I could complete that task.