Bon soir, I humbly present myself

Join the team. This area is for people who want to participate in OpenMW's development in one way or another.
archiebawled

Bon soir, I humbly present myself

Post by archiebawled »

I'd like to present myself for dipping my toe in the water of development. To be perfectly frank I don't exactly have a vast amount of time available, but I'd like to contribute, even if it's only in smaller ways.

I've been writing C++ for about 5 years now, and it's the basis of my current employment. I've worked a little with meshes (though not textured ones) in the course of my university life. I studied mathematics and would be interested in learning about AI, though I suspect that would require quite a lot of time before I could be helpful.

Unfortunately, aside from some limited experience with Qt, I've not used any of the libraries mentioned on the "setting up your dev environment" page. I regularly use clang, gcc and VS2010/2 but my experience with cmake is non-existant. Ubuntu and Windows 7/8 are my major operating systems at the moment.

Might I be useful somewhere? Rather than jumping in and saying "I shall attempt this task!" in a Quixotic and futile gesture, I was hoping that somebody might be able to suggest a task or two that I could start off on.

Thanks.

PS: There aren't any build packages for Ubuntu 13.04 (Raring). I know that it was only released a couple of days ago and you've been busy with the release of 0.23, but I figured I'd mention it just in case.
sirherrbatka

Re: Bon soir, I humbly present myself

Post by sirherrbatka »

Welcome, welcome! Nice to see another new programmer.

Make sure to complete checklist.

PS
may i ask how you found about this project? Thanks. :)
archiebawled

Post by archiebawled »

Don't worry about the checklist, I'm about half way through it, almost ready to stary building :-)

I heard about OpenMW through an article on Phoronix.
Zini

Post by Zini »