Mine

Join the team. This area is for people who want to participate in OpenMW's development in one way or another.
affine

Mine

Post by affine »

Hello everyone.

My name is Tom. I have extensive knowledge and experience with C++ game/engine development. Currently I'm working on my own game engine, as I have plenty of time during winter break off from college classes. Some of you may know me from #openmw, and I'm here finally making a post.

I'm not necessarily committing to anything by posting this, by the way. Convince to work and I will work :)

About a week ago I did some graphics stuff with PCSS shadows, which is what Cryengine3 and some other engines use for their shadow map sample filtering. Here are two pics:
http://i.imgur.com/LBa34.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/t0Ic2.jpg

^^ Notice the perceptually correct penumbra size as the distance away from the shadow caster and light source is greater, and it also varies with the area of the light source.

I've done a bit of GUI stuff in Qt as well, but I don't enjoy it much :) I was making a UDK/Maya-like material editor:
http://i.imgur.com/ZWcI2.jpg

I take more of an interest in areas other than graphics, though, and personally prefer writing other systems such as AI or animation. Threading and optimization is also a big interest of mine :) And incidentally so is engine architecture. Most recently I've been writing some multiplayer code for my engine.

What I'd like to do:
Some cool stuff that nobody else can or wants to do. Features along the lines of multiplayer (some of you just cringed,) AI, animation, or whatever systems you have left to write, I'd likely be willing to help out with. Even if it's a massive pain in the ass. I love Morrowind so much and still periodically play it, so my potential motivation for this project is quite high.

Ideally some team members could drop by on #openmw and have a discussion with me. I enjoy talking about programming, and it'd be nice to meet some of the people on this project :)