Hello

Join the team. This area is for people who want to participate in OpenMW's development in one way or another.
laena

Hello

Post by laena »

Hello all,

I'm a computer science student with intermediate C++ skills and some experience with Qt. A friend told me you were looking for Qt people and since I've always wanted to do some fun open source hacking, I thought I'd give it a try. I can't tell how much time I'll actually have for this but I'm motivated :)

I have read the Developer First Steps Wiki page and am currently setting up my environment. Since I'm crippled without Visual Studio (yep I know that's sad) I'm trying to get everything to work under Windows. CMake works fine with some tweaks, but I'm getting compiler errors due to amgiuous calls to STL functions.
So I'm wondering: is anyone else primarily using Windows among the developers? Would you encourage me to fix the compiler errors, or not to use Windows?

Cheers
Laena
gus

Re: Hello

Post by gus »

You're not the only one using windows, but as we are few, there are sometimes some compatibilty problems.
So I would say, try to correct them. Most of the time it's because of minor incompatibility between linux and windows implementations of the STL. As most dev use linux, it's up to the first windows dev who merge master branch to correct it.
But if you're having trouble correcting them, or if you're not sure, simply post your errors ;)

Anyway, welcome! I'm sure Zini will find some (a lot of) work for you for the editor ;)
psi29a
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/

Post by psi29a »

Have a bit of tea and read through the Developers Checklist.

Welcome aboard Laena.
Zini

Post by Zini »

Welcome! And then starting of with a bit of nitpicking.
Most of the time it's because of minor incompatibility between linux and windows implementations of the STL