Yet another application

Join the team. This area is for people who want to participate in OpenMW's development in one way or another.
potatoesmaster

Yet another application

Post by potatoesmaster »

Hello!

It has been a while since I have thought about joining your team. Finally, here is my application!

My name is Emanuel. I am an IT student (in second year of master degree).

Morrowind is a game for which I have a smile when I think back to the time spent playing it. I first read about OpenMW approximately a year ago at http://freegamer.blogspot.com.

I am quite proficient in Java, a little less in C and I have basic knowledge of C++. I want to invest myself in OpenMW to have practical experience and thus improve my programming skills and knowledge.

I would like to work on making the game more "keyboard friendly" in GUI mode. For example, being able to close containers either with a click or with a key press would be nice. This may be used to make the game playable with a gamepad, too.

I know this is not something important for now. I can try to pick up something on the tracker if you prefer. ;)
Zini

Re: Yet another application

Post by Zini »

Welcome!
I would like to work on making the game more "keyboard friendly" in GUI mode. For example, being able to close containers either with a click or with a key press would be nice. This may be used to make the game playable with a gamepad, too.
That is not something we can do at this point. At least not cleanly. Having a less strongly mouse-driven UI would be a nice post 1.0 feature though.

As usual, I direct you to the new developer checklist (see pinned thread).

You can have a task from the roadmap. There are still plenty to choose from. One of the bugs maybe (the list is awful long this time). Or maybe one of the editor tasks, if you have any experience with Qt.

Or this one:

Determine required ini fallback values and adjust the ini importer accordingly