Hi everyone

Join the team. This area is for people who want to participate in OpenMW's development in one way or another.
bhoessen

Hi everyone

Post by bhoessen »

Hi!

First, let me present myself. First thing first, my name is Benoît. I'm a PhD student in computer science (for those interested, my subject is trying to solve the satisfaction problem in parallel). I'm working everyday with c++ to achieve high performances and I've been working for one of the leader global distributed center.

For the openmw project, I wouldn't have a lot of time (~2 hours/week). So, if you have any tiny task or if I can prepare work for other, I'm free ;-) For instance, one of the things I can try to do, is to improve the documentation in the code...

Ben'
ElderTroll

Re: Hi everyone

Post by ElderTroll »

Welcome! Documentation would be very helpful.
Zini

Post by Zini »

You should get started with the new developer checklist (link in the pinned thread). 2 hours a week are not a lot, but if you are consistent about it and stick with us for a while, you should still be able to get some work done. I suggest you pick a small to mid-size low priority task (I'll help you with picking once you are done with the checklist).
As for improving the code documentation, I am somewhat skeptical about that. We aren't in dire need of documentation improvements (even though there is certainly room for them) and since you haven't worked on OpenMW before you will have a hard time finding your way around in the code base well enough to actually improve the documentation (at least within a reasonable timescale).
Zedd

Post by Zedd »

Welcome, hope you enjoy your time working on this project. Could you tell us how you first learned about OpenMW?
sirherrbatka

Post by sirherrbatka »

welcome!
bhoessen

Post by bhoessen »

Zini wrote:You should get started with the new developer checklist (link in the pinned thread).
Done :)
Zini wrote:even though there is certainly room for them