Application

Join the team. This area is for people who want to participate in OpenMW's development in one way or another.
Zeidrich

Application

Post by Zeidrich »

Hello!

I see a lot of activity with a bunch of people eager to help contribute to this project; that's encouraging! I am curious how everyone got directed to this site. Personally, I am working on my own hobby project, and I've been looking around at Daggerfall as a source of inspiration. Looking at Daggerfall development led me to DungeonHack, which had discussion on OpenMW, which led me here. It was actually the activity here that made me interested in contributing, there are a lot of dead or nearly dead projects out there, so it's really surprising to stumble across something that's had 3 people volunteer to contribute in under a week.

I am a moderate level hobbyist programmer, did CS in college, and the majority of my programming has been done in c or c++. I have taught myself to work in OpenGL, I respect the STL, but my own projects tend to be a bit too ambitious to be realistically completed, and they're typically just ways to explore concepts rather than serious goal-oriented works.

The reason I want to contribute to this project is to have an opportunity to work in a team. I don't really mind doing some of the less interesting work, because I've had lots of opportunities to make flashy systems on my own, what I've been missing is experience working with code that other people might need to read and understand, and to work under some structure that is imposed by some other folks that also have motivation to keep things going. This is in contrast to my own nebulous project ideals which are pretty feast or famine depending on how cool an idea is at the time, or how hard it is to pin down what exactly I want out of it.