OpenMW popularization

Anything related to PR, release planning and any other non-technical idea how to move the project forward should be discussed here.
endorph

OpenMW popularization

Post by endorph »

Hey, guys!
At first, I want to say that OpenMW is a project which I found very interesting. I think you guys are making impressive things, rewriting TES3 which is remains the best "sandboxed" RPG ever. I'm checking news feed, all the time with great interest, all the time I finish reading sir_herrbatka's posts with smile on my face (:

At first and a half, I'm excusing for my shitty Eng, will do my best to make it understandable.

At second, I wish to help project. I'm an Asm/C (C++ slightly) programmer, but, unfortunately, I have no experience in gamedev, low-level system programming only. So, more useful thing I can give now - donation + few ideas about project popularization.

1) What if to order good, professional OpenMW trailer on freelance service? Or another case (maybe its even better): it can be a competition for all who wish to try with voting and prize money. As result: more people knows about project; project "introduction" trailer is ready;

2) Highlight an idea with collaborative game mode. I think that is first and strongest dream of many TES fans, so, maybe some kind of conservative highlighting is possible? No roadmap changes, all the same, but let people know that if they contribute - they bring their dream closer;

3) Crowd funding around (2). Collaborative mode + Morrowind/Bloodmoon/Tribunal + Tamriel Rebuilt world = OpenMW MMORPG. Team: a) professionals (basic team) are working fulltime and paid from fund (real $$ + septimes, realty, guild titles in virtual world); b) non-professionals - paid with virtual gifts only, but by vote results can migrate into (a).

I undestand that all I suggested is not more than point of non-professional in gamedev, but I will be glad to read any opinions and to have constructive discussion.