is this a bug?

General discussion regarding the OpenMW project.
For technical support, please use the Support subforum.
reptakos
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Feb 2017, 23:22

is this a bug?

Post by reptakos » 17 Feb 2017, 23:30

Hi,

After long time I started again to play with MW, this time , using the OpenMW.
Just I noticed that the whole Raven Rock does not exist anymore.... I mean the place is empty from buildings, I m pretty sure that the Bloodmooon is loaded. Is this a known issue?

thx

User avatar
MiroslavR
Posts: 156
Joined: 12 Feb 2014, 17:45

Re: is this a bug?

Post by MiroslavR » 17 Feb 2017, 23:42

It is not supposed to be there from the beginning. It will be built as you progress in the East Empire Company quest line.

TheMechanist
Posts: 54
Joined: 10 Jan 2014, 22:08

Re: is this a bug?

Post by TheMechanist » 17 Feb 2017, 23:43

This may sound dumb, but have you gotten ahead in the questline of building up Raven Rock?

reptakos
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Feb 2017, 23:22

Re: is this a bug?

Post by reptakos » 17 Feb 2017, 23:54

MiroslavR wrote:It is not supposed to be there from the beginning. It will be built as you progress in the East Empire Company quest line.
arghh... thanks guys I totally forgot that, its decade+ since the last time I played the darn thing and I had the impression the village was there from the start!!

reptakos
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Feb 2017, 23:22

Re: is this a bug?

Post by reptakos » 18 Feb 2017, 00:46

Just I found a weird bug, there is a cave, location : Solstheim, Solvjord , that upon entering the screen goes black, then after a while the colours are changing to random...

User avatar
Pherim
Posts: 140
Joined: 27 Aug 2014, 15:37

Re: is this a bug?

Post by Pherim » 18 Feb 2017, 06:42

reptakos wrote:I m pretty sure that the Bloodmooon is loaded.
You should be sure about that, if you are actually on Solstheim. :lol:

reptakos
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Feb 2017, 23:22

Re: is this a bug?

Post by reptakos » 19 Feb 2017, 22:58

unfortunately the game is unplayable , at least under ubuntu 16.10 , I played it till last month under OpenSUSE,, was fine, now , after managed to port back my saves from the old system, is totally unplayable, random change of colours (everything becomes darker, even the menus can't be recognised anymore) when I enter into caves/buildings etc, but is fine on places outside :-(

User avatar
psi29a
Posts: 4720
Joined: 29 Sep 2011, 10:13
Location: Belgium
Gitlab profile: https://gitlab.com/psi29a/
Contact:

Re: is this a bug?

Post by psi29a » 20 Feb 2017, 00:09

Please file a bug with screenshots and/or video so it can be tracked.

User avatar
sjek
Posts: 432
Joined: 22 Nov 2014, 10:51

Re: is this a bug?

Post by sjek » 20 Feb 2017, 00:09

there has been changes in inventory shading and such. also different drivers may be responsible or something (out of the magic hat)

but does it happen on new game .?
"life is crazy"
"craziness has beauty which only crazies understand" some movie clip in the head.
https://wiki.openmw.org/index.php?title=Testing

reptakos
Posts: 7
Joined: 17 Feb 2017, 23:22

Re: is this a bug?

Post by reptakos » 20 Feb 2017, 11:52

I just found the reason of that 'bug', this happens all the time when I run the openmw that installed via the ubuntu ppa, but I just downloaded the 0.41(64bit) from the github, and the game runs just fine.
sjek wrote:..but does it happen on new game .?
yes, even on starting a new game, seems to me something is broken on the ubuntu's ppa files, I will stick with the binaries from github

Post Reply