Is openmw compatible with MGSO

General discussion regarding the OpenMW project.
For technical support, please use the Support subforum.
mkborregaard

Is openmw compatible with MGSO

Post by mkborregaard »

Hi, noob here (but I did search the forums),
I play openmw on my ubuntu 16.04 machine, I love it; but just curious whether it would be possible/make sense to use MGSO (Overhaul) with openmw (and is doable to install for noobs like me), or these are more competing efforts?

Thanks a bunch!
lysol

Re: Is openmw compatible with MGSO

Post by lysol »

Hi there and welcome!

Yes, the mod should be compatible except for a few things: The Morrowind Code Patch (MCP) and Morrowind Graphics Extender (MGE). Those are third party .exe-files that are modifying how Morrowind runs. Since OpenMW is a totally different engine with a totally different .exe file, you can't run these with OpenMW.

So basically: Yes, you can use the sounds, textures and 3d models from MGSO, but not the distant land, shadows and light effects provided by MGE, nor the bug fixes and features provided by MCP. The bug fixes by MCP are on the other hand unneccessary with OpenMW since the bugs aren't there from the start.

Oh, and don't mind my signature. :roll:
mkborregaard

Post by mkborregaard »

Ha ha, thanks a lot, I will try it out. Sounds, textures and 3d models were in fact what I was after. As far as I can tell openmw already has the other things covered absolutely fine for my uses!
mkborregaard

Post by mkborregaard »

Would you happen to know how to get MGSO working in practice, though? When I download it it comes as a series of exe files, rather than as a pack of data files. I assume those data files get created when the exe files are run. I cannot run them, though, as I am on linux. Is there a way to just get the textures and sounds as data files?
Pop000100

Post by Pop000100 »

MGSO, the data files are stored in data.7z(might be data.exe but you can force 7zip to unzip it) IIRC.
Whimby